1972 Roy Head – Dismal Prisoner

Dismal Prisoner is the third solo album by singer Roy Head, released in 1972.

Roy Kent Head (born January 9, 1941 in Three Rivers, Texas) is an American singer, best known for his hit “Treat Her Right”.


1  You Got The Power (Van Morrison) 5:30
2  Getting Too Big For Your Britches (Mack Rice) 3:50
3  Why Don’t We Go Somewhere And Love (Kenny O’Dell, Larry Henley) 3:14
4  Dismal Prisoner 0613 (Tony Joe White) 4:51
5  Don’t Burry Me In The rain (Mack Rice, Steve Cropper) 3:58
6  Crawlin’ Kingsnake (John Lee Hooker) 4:28
7  Smell A Women (Jay Spell, Jimmy Flim Johnson, Paul Cannon, Richie Simpson, Roy Head, Steve Cropper) 3:38
8  Chickamauga (David Mayo, Mary V Williams, Steve Cropper) 4:10
9  Rock And Roll Mood (Kenny Loggins, Michael Omartian) 3:11



Bass Jimmy Flim Johnson
Drums Richie Simpson
Guitar Paul Cannon
Guitar Steve Cropper
Keyboards Jay Spell
Background Vocals David Beaver
Background Vocals David Mayo
Background Vocals Dee Mcminn
Background Vocals Gary Jones
Background Vocals Pat Taylor
Background Vocals Reni Crook

Other Musicians

1 You Got The Power

CongasGary Jones

4 Dismal Prisoner 0613

GuitarTony Joe White

Liner Notes

Coordinator (Album Coordination) – Jerry Williams
Engineer – Ron Capone
Engineer (Remix Engineer) – Ron Capone, Steve Cropper

Design (Album Cover Design) – Ronnie Stoots
Photography By – Bob Lehnert

Recorded At – Trans Maximus Inc. Recording Studios
Manufactured By – RCA Records
Distributed By – RCA Records