1990 Alex Acuña & The Unknowns – Thinking Of You

Thinking Of You is an album released in 1990 by Alex Acuña and The Unknows.

Alejandro Neciosup Acuña (born December 12, 1944), known professionally as Alex Acuña, is a drummer and percussionist. Born in Pativilca, Peru, Acuña played in local bands from the age of ten, and moved to Lima as a teenager. At the age of eighteen he joined the band of Perez Prado, and in 1966 he moved to San Juan, Puerto Rico. In 1974 Acuña moved to Las Vegas, working with artists such as Elvis Presley and Diana Ross, and the following year he joined the jazz-fusion group Weather Report, appearing on the albums Black Market and Heavy Weather. Acuña left Weather Report in 1978, and became a session musician in California, recording and playing live with (amongst many others) Paul McCartney, Joni Mitchell, Ella Fitzgerald, Elvis Presley, Chick Corea, Whitney Houston, Plácido Domingo, former Weather Report bandmates Wayne Shorter and Joe Zawinul, Herbie Hancock, Carlos Santana, Antonio Carlos Jobim, Beck, Roberta Flack, U2, Al Jarreau and Marcos Witt. He can be found on recordings by musicians as culturally diverse as Lee Ritenour, Johnny Clegg, Roy Orbison, YellowJackets, Lalo Schiffrin, Milton Nascimento, Don Grusin, Dave Grusin, The Brecker Brothers, Arturo Sandoval, Paquito d’Rivera, Gonzalo Rubalcaba, Brad Mehldau, Paco de Lucia, John Patitucci, Sadao Watanabe, Lyle Mays, Diana Ross, Sergio Mendez, Robbie Robertson, Jackson Browne, Bette Midler, Jennifer Nettles, Christina Aguilera, Seal and Chris Botti.


1  Te A Mo (Alex Acuna, Efrain Toro) 3:54
2  Joe\’s Red Eye (Alex Acuna, Efrain Toro) 3:50
3  Marionettes (Alex Acuna, Efrain Toro) 4:44
4  Hoppin\’ It (Alex Acuna, Efrain Toro) 5:33
5  Nice (Alex Acuna, Efrain Toro) 4:08
6  Cocho San (Alex Acuna, Efrain Toro) 4:17
7  Van Nuys Jam (Alex Acuna, Efrain Toro) 2:52
8  Think Of You (Pensando En Ti) (Alex Acuna, Efrain Toro) 5:07
9  Psalms (Alex Acuna, Efrain Toro) 6:00
10  Ten O\’Clock Groove (Alex Acuna, Efrain Toro) 3:56



BassJohn Pena
BassAbraham Laboriel Sr
DrumsAlex Acuna
DrumsEfrain Toro
GuitarRamon Stagnaro
GuitarCarlos Santana
KeyboardsCocho Arbe
KeyboardsLou Pardini
ProgrammingEfrain Toro
EWIPedro Eustache
FlutePedro Eustache
FluteDanilo Lozano
SaxBrandon Fields
PercussionAlex Acuna
PercussionEfrain Toro
PercussionPaulinho Da Costa
PercussionLuis Conte
PercussionMichito Sanchez
PercussionRudy Regalado
Background VocalsTiki
Background VocalsDante Young
VocalsAlex Acuna
VocalsDiana Acuna
VocalsLou Pardini

Liner Notes

Producer – Alex Acuna, Efrain Toro
Producer (Assistant) – Efrain Toro
Producer (Executive) – Tetsu Hoshika
Arranged By – Alex Acuña, Efrain Toro
Engineer – Peter Haden, Steve Reid, Tom Mocukey

Design [Cover Design], Illustration – Robert Fischer

Phonographic Copyright (p) – Victor Musical Industries, Inc.
Copyright (c) – Royal Music AB
Made By – Disctronics Group, United Kingdom
Recorded & Mixed at Weddington Studio, North Hollywood. Steve Reid Studio, North Hollywood and Record Plant, San Francisco.