1975 Johnny Cash – John R. Cash

John R. Cash is the 51st overall album by country singer Johnny Cash, released in 1975 on Columbia Records. It consists mostly of covers of other musicians’ songs. The first track on the album, a song titled “My Old Kentucky Home”, is not the state song of Kentucky, but a composition by Randy Newman which had been previously recorded by the Osborne Brothers in 1970 and Three Dog Night in 1972; Cash’s version, like that of the Osborne Brothers five years previous, was released as the second single from the album, though the previously issued single “The Lady Came from Baltimore” had achieved greater success on the charts, reaching #14. The Cash original “Lonesome to the Bone” had previously appeared on Ragged Old Flag (1974) and would make one more appearance on Silver (1979).

Cash himself disliked John R. Cash, criticizing both the album, and its production process, in his 1997 autobiography, Cash: The Autobiography. He claimed the release was “[the CBS bosses’] idea of an album to restore [Cash’s] sales potential”, mentioning that the instrumental tracks were recorded separately from the vocals, a standard practice Cash didn’t usually follow himself. In addition, this was the first Johnny Cash album on which his regular backing group, The Tennessee Three did not participate; instead, producer Gary Klein recruited a number of session musicians including members of Elvis Presley’s TCB Band concert backing group, including guitarist James Burton, pianist Larry Muhoberac and drummer Ron Tutt.


1  My Old Kentucky Home (Randy Newman) 2:48
2  Hard Times Comin’ (Jack Routh) 2:39
3  Lady Came From Baltimore (Tim Hardin) 2:44
4  Lonesome To The Bone (Johnny Cash) 2:34
5  The Night They Drove Old Dixie Down (Robbie Robertson) 3:26
6  Clean Your Own Tables (Chip Taylor) 3:36
7  Jesus Was Our Saviour (Billy Joe Shaver) 2:48
8  Reason To Believe (Tim Hardin) 2:09
9  Cocaine Carolina (David Allan Coe) 2:37
10  Smokey Factory Blues (Albert Hammond, Mike Hazlewood) 3:21



BassMarshall Grant
BassHenry Strzelecki
BassReinie Press
DrumsKenny Malone
DrumsKenny Malone
DrumsRon Tutt
GuitarReggie Young
GuitarBob Wootton
GuitarRon Elliott
GuitarRy Cooder
GuitarJames Burton
GuitarJerry Cole
KeyboardsShane Keister
KeyboardsTeddy Irwin
KeyboardsDavid Foster
KeyboardsLarry Muhoberac
StringsNick DeCaro
WoodwindsGene Cipriano
PercussionRuss Titelman
PercussionVictor Feldman
PercussionJoe Porcaro
PercussionGene Estes

Liner Notes

Producer – Gary Klein
Arranged By – Nick DeCaro
Concertmaster, Strings – Harry Bluestone
Engineer – Armin Steiner, Ben Tallent, Bob McGraw, Bruce Botnick, Don Puluse, Ed Hudson, Freeman Ramsey, Hollis Flatt, Jerry Watson, Lou Bradley, Ron Malo, Ron Reynolds, Ronnie Dean
Mastered By – Doug Sax
Mixed By – Al Schmitt

Design – Bill Barnes, Julie Holiner
Photography By – Al Clayton
Photography By (Flyleaf) – Emerson-Loew

Mastered At – The Mastering Lab
Recorded At – CBS Studios, Nashville