1982 Rufus & Chaka Khan – Stompin At The Savoy (Live)

Stompin’ at the Savoy – Live is an album by American R&B/funk band Rufus with singer Chaka Khan, released on the Warner Bros. Records label in 1983.

Stompin’ at the Savoy was a double-record set featuring three sides of live material recorded at the Savoy Theatre in New York which sees the band reunited with Chaka Khan and performing all their biggest hits such as “Tell Me Something Good”, “You Got the Love”, “Sweet Thing”, “At Midnight (My Love Will Lift You Up)”, and “Do You Love What You Feel” as well as “What Cha’ Gonna Do for Me” from Khan’s 1981 solo album of the same name.

The fourth side of the album included four new studio recordings of which two were released as singles, “Ain’t Nobody” and “One Million Kisses”. “Ain’t Nobody”, written by the band’s keyboardist David “Hawk” Wolinski, became Rufus’ final #1 R&B hit, reached #22 on the Billboard Hot 100 singles chart, also won them a Grammy Award for Best R&B Performance by a Duo or Group with Vocal in 1984 and has since come to be regarded as one of Khan’s own signature tunes – although it in fact was recorded with Rufus. Both “Ain’t Nobody” and “One Million Kisses” were included on her 1989 remix compilation Life is a Dance – The Remix Project. Additionally, “Ain’t Nobody” was featured in the movie Breakin’ and its soundtrack.


1  You Got The Love (Chaka Khan, Ray Parker Jr) 5:36
2  Once You Get Started (Gavin Christopher) 5:05
3  Dance Wit Me (Gavin Christopher) 3:36
4  Sweet Thing (Chaka Khan, Tony Maiden) 3:28
5  Tell Me Something Good (Stevie Wonder) 3:39
6  You’re Welcome, Stop On By (Truman Thomas, Bobby Womack) 5:41
7  Pack’d My Bags (Chaka Khan, Tony Maiden) 4:31
8  I’m A Woman (I’m A Backbone) (Lalomie Washburn) 4:06
9  At Midnight (My Love Will Lift You Up) (Tony Maiden, Lalomie Washburn) 3:39
10  Ain’t That Peculiar (Warren Moore, Smokey Robinson, Robert Rogers, Marvin Tarplin) 3:29
11  Stay (Raymond Calhoun, Chaka Khan) 5:50
12  What ‘Cha Gonna Do For Me (Ned Doheny, Hamish Stuart) 4:24
13  Do You Love What You Feel (David Wolinski) 6:50
14  Ain’t Nobody (David Wolinski) 4:45
15  One Million Kisses (Kevin Murphy, Jeffrey Osborne) 4:12
16  Try A Little Understanding (Chaka Khan, Tony Maiden) 4:45
17  Don’t Go To Strangers (Redd Evans, Arthur Kent, David Mann) 4:15



Bass Bobby Watson
Drums JR Robinson
Guitar Tony Maiden
Guitar David Williams
Keyboards Kevin Murphy
Keyboards David Wolinski
Flute Larry Williams
Flute Gary Herbig
Sax Ernie Watts
Sax Larry Williams
Sax Gary Herbig
Trumpet Jerry Hey
Percussion Lenny Castro
Background Vocals Stephanie Spruill
Background Vocals Lee Maiden
Background Vocals Julia Tillman Waters
Vocals Tony Maiden
Vocals Chaka Khan

Other Musicians

Percussion, Musician (Additional Musicians, Studio) – Paulinho Da Costa
Synthesizer (Additional Synthesizer), Musician (Additional Musicians, Studio) – James Newton Howard
Synthesizer ( Bass), Additional Musicians, Studio– Greg Phillinganes (Track 16)

Liner Notes

Producer – Russ Titelman
Co-producer (Productioin Assistance) – Gail Pierson, JoAnn Tominaga, Kimberly Boyle
Arranged By (Horn Arrangements) – Jerry Hey
Engineer – Elliot Scheiner, Mark Linett, Wayne Yurgelin
Engineer (Second Engineer) – Clif Jones, Cliff Bonnell, Guy Charbonneau, Margaret Gwynne, Michael Morongell, Paul Brown, Richard McKernan, Robin Danar, Steve Berger, Stuart Gitlin
Mastered By – Lee Herschberg, Phil Brown
Mixed By – Elliot Scheiner
Recorded By – Le Mobile (Tracks 1 to 13)
Technician (Digital Editor) – Stewart Whitmore
Technician (Digital Recordist) – David Collins

Design (Cover) – Jeri McManus
Liner Notes – Quincy Jones
Photography By (Back Cover Photograph), Photography By (Inner Spread Photography) – Michael Halsband
Photography By (Inner Spread Photography) – Jeff Katz, John Bellissimo

Phonographic Copyright (p) – Warner Bros. Records Inc.
Copyright (c) – Warner Bros. Records Inc.
Recorded At – Savoy Theatre
Recorded At – Warner Bros. Recording Studios
Recorded At – Group IV Recording Studios
Recorded At – The Village Recorder
Recorded At – RPM Studios
Recorded At – Soundworks Digital Audio/Video Studios
Recorded At – Sunset Sound
Mastered At – Warner Bros. Recording Studios
Mastered At – Sheffield Lab Matrix – △4536
Mastered At – Sheffield Lab Matrix – △4537
Pressed By – Allied Record Company – B-18164
Pressed By – Allied Record Company – B-18165
Pressed By – Allied Record Company – B-18166
Pressed By – Allied Record Company – B-18167
Record Company – Warner Bros. Records Inc.
Record Company – Warner Communications