1976 Hamilton, Joe Frank & Dennison – Love And Conversation

Hamilton, Joe Frank & Reynolds / Dennison were a 1970s soft rock trio from Los Angeles. The original members were Dan Hamilton (guitar/lead vocal), Joe Frank Carollo (bass/vocal), and Tommy Reynolds (multi-instrumentalist/vocal), all of whom had previously played in The T-Bones, a 1960s band noted for the instrumental hit “No Matter What Shape (Your Stomach’s In)”.

In the latter part of 1974 they secured another recording deal with Playboy Records on the proviso that they retain the name Hamilton, Joe Frank, and Reynolds, even though Reynolds had left the group Within another few months they released “Fallin’ in Love”, which reached #1 on the Billboard Hot 100. It also became their second gold disc, and their only song to appear in the UK Singles Chart where it was licensed to Pye Records and reached #33 in the autumn of 1975.

They followed this success with “Winners & Losers” which reached #21 in 1976, but the next releases, “Don’t Fight The Hands (That Need You)” and “Everyday Without You” both failed to reach the Top 40. For their second Playboy Records album the band changed their name to the more-accurate moniker of “Hamilton, Joe Frank & Dennison”, but in 1980 they once again disbanded, this time permanently. Hamilton continued to write and publish songs, and also wrote and recorded a couple of film themes.


1  You Sold A One Way Ticket To Love (Van McCoy, Joe Cobb) 3:18
2  I Was There (Zulema Cusseaux) 4:50
3  Don’t Fight The Hands (That Need You) (Jimmy George, Robert Caldwell) 3:08
4  Love And Conversation (Dan Hamilton, Jimmy George) 4:50
5  Now That I Got You (Homer Banks, Carl Hampton) 3:08
6  Act Of Mercy 2:53
7  Houdini (Alan Dennison) 3:02
8  Old Habits (Jim Weatherly) 3:25
9  Get On The Bus (Joe Frank Carollo, Alan Dennison, Dan Hamilton) 2:37



BassDavid Hungate
BassJames Jamerson
BassJoe Frank Carollo
DrumsEd Greene
DrumsJoe Correro
GuitarJeff Baxter
GuitarLee Ritenour
GuitarDan Hamilton
KeyboardsTom Hensley
KeyboardsAlan Dennison
FluteJohn D’Andrea
FluteErnie Watts
FluteWilliam Green
SaxJohn D’Andrea
SaxErnie Watts
SaxWilliam Green
TromboneCharlie Loper
TromboneLew McCreary
TrumpetBobby Findley
HarpGayle Levant
PercussionPaulinho Da Costa
VocalsJoe Frank Carollo
VocalsAlan Dennison
VocalsDan Hamilton

Liner Notes

Producer – John D’Andrea
Arranged By – John D’Andrea
Mastered By – Bob MacLeod
Mixed By (Assistant) – Dean Rod, Steve Hodge
Recorded By, Mixed By – Humberto Gatica
Concertmaster – Sidney Sharp

Design – Richard Seireeni, Rod Dyer, Inc.

Phonographic Copyright (p) – Playboy Records, Inc.
Copyright (c) – Playboy Records, Inc.
Recorded At – Kendun Recorders
Mixed At – Westlake Studios
Mastered At – Artisan Sound Recorders
Pressed By – Columbia Records Pressing Plant, Santa Maria