1979 Raul De Souza – Til Tomorrow Comes

Til Tomorrow Comes is Raul de Souza’s sixth album, release in 1979.

Raul de Souza (born August 23, 1934, in Rio de Janeiro, Brazil), also known as Raulzinho, is a trombonist who has recorded with Sérgio Mendes, Flora Purim, Airto Moreira, Milton Nascimento, Sonny Rollins, Cal Tjader and the jazz/fusion band Caldera.

American producer, composer and pianist, George Duke, was brought in to produce de Souza’s first and second album releases for Capitol in the mid-1970s, Sweet Lucy and Don’t Ask My Neighbors. In 1979, Souza released ‘Til Tomorrow Comes, an Arthur Wright production with many of the top soul session players in Los Angeles. This recording was devoid of any jazz and was an effort to jump aboard the disco/funk bandwagon. Colors, his earlier album for Milestone, is available on CD as part of the Original Jazz Classics series from Fantasy Records.

In the early 1960s, he was a member of Sérgio Mendes’ original Bossa Rio group. In the late ’60s, a second, more pop-oriented Bossa Rio group was led by keyboardist Manfredo Fest (Mendes was the producer of their two albums).

He has appeared at many international jazz festivals and after living and working in the United States for many years, he has returned to live in Brazil where he continues to play and compose.


1Til Tomorrow Comes (Arthur Wright, Brian Nakagawa)8:09
2Only When You Can (Arthur Wright)4:34
3Fe-no-me-nol (Arthur Wright)4:36
4Pleasurize (Arthur Wright, Gary Knox)4:20
5Up and At It (Arthur Wright, Raul de Souza)5:59
6Everybody’s Got to Dance to the Music (Arthur Wright)5:53
7Self Sealing (Arthur Wright)4:41
8Boogie Shoes (Arthur Wright)6:04



Bass Eddie Watkins Jr
Drums Ed Greene
Drums James Gadson
Guitar Art Wright
Guitar David T. Walker
Guitar Greg Poree
Keyboards Greg Phillinganes
Keyboards Alan Oldfield
Synthesizer Alan Oldfield
Sax Ernie Fields Jr
Sax Moacir Santos
Sax William Green
Trombone Raoul de Souza
Trombone Donald Cooke
Trombone Lew McCreary
Trombone Maurice Spears
Trumpet Bobbie Bryant
Trumpet Leslie Drayton
Percussion Clarence Robinson
Percussion Eddie Brown
Percussion Raul De Souza
Background Vocals Bonita Wilson
Background Vocals Lynn Davis
Background Vocals Marte Jones
Background Vocals Onelda Jones

Liner Notes

Producer – Arthur Wright
Arranged By (Vocals) – Josef Powell
Arranged By – Arthur Wright
Concertmaster – Assa Drori
Coordinator (Album Coordination) – Linda C Robinson
Engineer – EJ Emmons, Kevin Wright
Engineer (Assistant) – Bob Smith, Boris Thompson
Engineer (Remix Assistant) – Boris Thompson, Kevin Wright
Engineer (Remix) – Arthur Wright

Art Direction – Roy Kohara
Artwork (Background Mural) – Dan Concholar
Design – Tom Drennon
Photography By – Raul Vega

Recorded At – NSP Studios
Remixed At – NSP Studios
Mastered At – Capitol Studios