1980 Gordon Lightfoot – Dream Street Rose

Dream Street Rose is Canadian singer Gordon Lightfoot’s 14th original album released in 1980 on the Warner Brothers Records label (#3426). The album peaked at #58 on the country chart and at #60 on the pop chart.

The album continues in the style of Summertime Dream (1976) and Endless Wire (1978), with a mix of faster-paced, country style songs and introspective folk ballads. Lightfoot’s penchant for seafaring songs was again evident with three songs featuring an ocean theme.

The album also featured a recorded version of “The Auctioneer” which had been a concert staple for Lightfoot, although it seemed somewhat out of place when compared to the rest of the album’s material.

It was also the last album that would see Lightfoot collaborate with long-time producer Lenny Waronker. It was one of the first albums recorded digitally.  “Dream Street Rose” reached #80 on the country singles chart.


1  Sea Of Tranquility (Gordon Lightfoot) 3:17
2  Ghosts Of Cape Horn (Gordon Lightfoot) 4:09
3  Dream Street Rose (Gordon Lightfoot) 2:57
4  On The High Seas (Gordon Lightfoot) 3:17
5  Whisper My Name (Gordon Lightfoot) 3:12
6  If You Need Me (Gordon Lightfoot) 2:50
7  Hey You (Gordon Lightfoot) 2:52
8  Make Way For The Lady (Gordon Lightfoot) 3:43
9  Mister Rock Of Ages (Gordon Lightfoot) 3:32
10 The Auctioneer (LeRoy Van Dyke, Buddy Black) 3:51



BassRick Haynes
DrumsBarry Keane
GuitarTerry Clements
GuitarGordon Lightfoot
Pedal Steel GuitarPeeWee Charles

Other Musicians

BassBob Glaub
BanjoHerb Pedersen
AccordionNick DeCaro
AccordionMichael Omartian
Fender RhodesMichael Omartian
KeyboardsMichael Omartian
AutoharpBruce Good
HarpGayle Levant
SynthesizerStephen Hague
PercussionLenny Castro

Liner Notes

Producer – Gordon Lightfoot, Lenny Waronker, Russ Titelman
Arranged By (String Arrangements) – Nick DeCaro
Engineer (Assistant) – Stuart Gitlin
Mastered By – Bobby Hata
Mixed By – Lee Herschberg
Music Consultant – Red Shea

Artwork, Photography By (Cover Photo) – Tom Bert
Design (Album) – Martin Donald
Photography By (Band Photo) – Bruce Cole
Typography (Lettering) – Michael Manoogian

Distributed By – Hispavox, S.A.
Manufactured By – Hispavox, S.A.
Record Company – Warner Bros. Records Inc.
Licensed From – WEA International Inc.
Phonographic Copyright (p) – Warner Bros. Records Inc.
Copyright (c) – Warner Bros. Records Inc.
Printed By – Hispavox, S.A.
Published By – Moose Music