1980 Allan Clarke – Legendary Heroes

Harold Allan Clarke (5 April 1942, Salford, Lancashire, England) is a retired English pop rock singer, who was one of the founding members and the original lead singer of The Hollies. He retired from performing in 1999, and was inducted into the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame in 2010.

Allan Clarke recorded and released solo albums while remaining with The Hollies, although his solo career did not achieve much album or single chart success. He released his self-titled third album in 1974. His next album was I’ve Got Time (1976). He also performed guest vocals on the 1977 album I Robot by The Alan Parsons Project (most notably, lead vocals on “Breakdown”). He left The Hollies briefly for the second time in March 1978 and made I Wasn’t Born Yesterday (1978), an album of original material mostly written with singer-songwriter Gary Benson. It yielded a US chart hit single in “(I Will Be Your) Shadow in the Street”. He returned to the group in August. Subsequent solo albums included Legendary Heroes (1979), another largely original set, with its UK title and track running order changed to The Only One when released in 1980.


Slipstream (Allan Clarke, Gary Benson) 4:34
2  Only Ones (Allan Clarke, Gary Benson) 4:12
3  Walls (Allan Clarke, Gary Benson) 5:00
4  Brandberg Plaza (Allan Clarke, Gary Benson) 4:23
5  Survivor (Allan Clarke, Gary Benson) 6:17
6  Driving The Doomsday Cars (Allan Clarke, Gary Benson) 4:28
7  Baby Blue (Pete Ham) 3:39
8  Sanctuary (Gary Benson) 4:28
9  Imagination’s Child (Allan Clarke, Spencer Proffer) 4:09
10  Legendary Heroes (Allan Clarke, Spencer Proffer) 4:45


Bass Mike Porcaro
Bass Leland Sklar
Drums David Kemper
Guitar Doug Rhone
Guitar Richard Bennett
Acoustic Guitar Richard Bennett
Background Vocals Phil Kelsey
Background Vocals Randy Bishop
Vocals Allan Clarke

Liner Notes

Producer – Spencer Proffer
Arranged By – Spencer Proffer
Arranged By – Allan Clarke
Arranged By – Richard Bennett
Arranged By – Tom Hensley
Engineer – Larry Brown
Mastered By – Bernie Grundman

Manufactured By – WEA Music Of Canada, Ltd.
Distributed By – WEA Music Of Canada, Ltd.
Copyright (c) – The Pasha Music Organisation
Phonographic Copyright (p) – Elektra/Asylum Records