1989 Poco – Legacy

Legacy is the 19th album by the country rock band Poco, released in 1989. The album reunited the five original members of the group (from the Pickin’ Up the Pieces album) and contained two top-40 singles, “Call It Love” and “Nothin’ to Hide.”

Timothy B. Schmit and Paul Cotton were not involved in the making of this album, notwithstanding that they had become more associated with the band than the original members they replaced; Randy Meisner (who only appeared on the first album) and Jim Messina.

Legacy was the second Poco album to be certified gold.


1  When It All Began (Steve Pasch, Anthony Krizan, Richie Furay, Scott Sellen) 3:36
2  Call It Love (Ron Gilbeau, Billy Crain, Jim Messina, Rick Lonow) 4:17
3  The Nature Of Love (Jeff Silbar, Tommy Stephenson) 4:03
4  What Do People Know (Rusty Young) 3:53
Nothin’ To Hide (Richard Marx, Bruce Gaitsch) 5:13
6  Look Within (Jim Messina) 5:04
7  Rough Edges (Rusty Young, Radney Foster, Bill Lloyd) 3:09
8  Who Else (Rusty Young, Mike Noble) 4:02
9  Lovin’ You Every Minute (Jim Messina, Michael Brady) 3:11
10  If It Wasn’t For You (Richie Furay, Scott Sellen) 4:16
11  Follow Your Dreams (Jim Messina) 2:56



BassRandy Meisner
DrumsGeorge Grantham
GuitarJim Messina
GuitarRichie Furay
Pedal Steel GuitarRusty Young
VocalsRandy Meisner
VocalsRichie Furay
VocalsGeorge Grantham
VocalsRandy Meisner

Other Musicians

BassLeland Sklar
DrumsGary Mallaber
DrumsJeffrey Porcaro
KeyboardsBill Payne
KeyboardsCJ Vanston
AccordionFrank Marocco
PercussionPaulinho Da Costa
Background VocalsJoe Chemay
Background VocalsRichard Marx

Liner Notes

Producer – David Cole (Tracks 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 8, 9, 10)
Producer – Richard Marx (Track 7)
Production Coordination – Suzanne Marie Edgren
Arranged By – Bruce Gaitsch, Richard Marx (Track 7)
Engineer – David Cole (Tracks 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 8, 9, 10)
Engineer (Assistant) – Jessie Kanner, Ken Felton, Steve Holroyd, Peter Doell
Engineer – Rick Holbrook (Track 7)
Mastered By – Wally Traugott
Mixed By – David Cole (Tracks 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 8, 9, 10)
Programmed By (Synclavier) – Brian Mendelsohn
Mixed By (Assistant) – Laura Livingston
Mixed By – Rick Holbrook (Track 7)
Recorded By (Additional) – Peter Doell
Technical Assistance – John Ciasulli, Ross Garfield

Art Direction, Design – DZN, The Design Group
Photography – Jim Shea
Photography (Illustration) – Lendon Flanagan

Recorded at Ocean Way Recording Studios, Capitol Recording Studios, Studio 55.
Mixed at Lion Share Recording Studio
Mastered at Capitol Recording Studios.