1989 Tears For Fears – The Seeds Of Love

The Seeds of Love is the third album by the British band Tears for Fears, released in September 1989.

The album, which reportedly cost over £1 million (GBP) to produce, retained the band’s epic sound while showing increasing influences ranging from jazz and blues to The Beatles, the latter of which is most evident on the hit single “Sowing the Seeds of Love”.

The Seeds of Love was a big international success, entering the UK Album Chart at number one and reaching the top ten in numerous other countries including the U.S. It has been certified Platinum in several territories including the United Kingdom, the United States, France, Germany, Canada, and the Netherlands. Despite its success, it would be the last album that bandmembers Roland Orzabal and Curt Smith would work on together for over a decade.


1 Woman In Chains 6:31
2 Badman’s Song 8:32
3 Sowing The Seeds Of Love 6:19
4 Advice For The Young At Heart 4:50
5 Standing On The Corner Of The Third World 5:33
6 Swords And Knives 6:12
7 Year Of The Knife 7:08
8 Famous Last Words 4:26


Bass Curt Smith
Drums Simon Phillips
Guitar Roland Orzabal
Guitar Randy Jacobs
Keyboards Ian Stanley
Keyboards Nicky Holland
Keyboards Oleta Adams
Keyboards Roland Orzabal
Keyboards Simon Clark
Percussion Luis Jardim
Vocals Roland Orzabal
Vocals Curt Smith

Other Musicians

1 Woman In Chains

Drums Phil Collins
Guitar Neil Taylor
Vocals Oleta Adams

3 Sowing The Seeds Of Love

Drums Chris Hughes
Hammond Organ Ian Stanley

4 Advice For The Young At Heart

Organ Simon Clark
Piano Nicky Holland
Background Vocals Maggie Ryder
Background Vocals Nicky Holland

6 Swords And Knives

Piano Nicky Holland
Oboe Kate St John
Sax Kate St John
Vocals Tessa Niles

7 Year Of The Knife

Guitar Robbie McIntosh
Guitar Neil Taylor
Hammond Organ Simon Clark
Background Vocals Andy Caine
Background Vocals Dolette McDonald
Background Vocals Carol Kenyon
Background Vocals Nicky Holland
Background Vocals Tessa Niles

8 Famous Last Words

Piano Nicky Holland
Synthesizer Nicky Holland
Trumpet Jon Hassell