1992 Roy Orbison – King Of Hearts

King of Hearts is a posthumous album of Roy Orbison songs put together from master sessions and demos by Jeff Lynne for Virgin Records. The collection was originally released in 1992 on CD, music cassette and long-playing record.

Roy Orbison died on December 6, 1988 aged 52 from a heart attack in the middle of his career revival. After Orbison’s death in 1988, Mystery Girl was released, several songs had been recorded during the sessions. The question was whether or not Orbison had recorded enough material for one more album. The answer was yes. Some songs on this album were recorded as demos. Several individuals produced the various recordings, including Lynne. They were: Don Was, David Was, Pete Anderson, Robbie Robertson, Will Jennings, David Briggs, Chips Moman, Guy Roche, Albert Hammond and Diane Warren.


1  You’re The One (Roy Orbison, Bill Dees) 3:00
2  Heartbreak Radio (Troy Seals, Frankie Miller) 2:58
3  We’ll Take The Night (Roy Orbison, Will Jennings, John David Souther) 4:56
4  Crying (Roy Orbison, Joe Melson) 3:48
5  After The Love Has Gone (Roy Orbison, Jerry L. Williams) 4:40
6  Love In Time (Roy Orbison, Will Jennings) 5:32
7  I Drove All Night (Billy Steinberg, Tom Kelly) 3:46
8  Wild Hearts Run Out Of Time (Roy Orbison, Will Jennings) 3:33
9  Coming Home (Roy Orbison, Will Jennings, John David Souther) 4:01
10  Careless Heart (Original Demo) (Roy Orbison, Diane Warren, Albert Hammond) 5:17
11  Life Fades Away (Bonus Track) (Roy Orbison, Glenn Danzig) 3:41



1 You’re The One

BassT-Bone Wolk
DrumsJim Keltner
GuitarDavid Hidalgo
GuitarDean Parks
Acoustic GuitarT-Bone Burnett
OrganBooker T Jones
Background VocalsKD Lang
VocalsRoy Orbison

2 Heartbreak Radio

All InstrumentsJeff Lynne
VocalsRoy Orbison

3 We’ll Take The Night

BassJames Hutchinson
DrumsJeffrey Porcaro
GuitarReggie Young
OrganBenmont Tench
PianoLarry Knechtel
SaxClarence Clemons
Background VocalsAndrew Gold
Background VocalsEverett Drake
Background VocalsFrancine Reed
Background VocalsWayne Murray
Background VocalsWillie Green
VocalsRoy Orbison

4 Crying

BassJames Johnson
DrumsKenny Buttrey
GuitarSteve Gibson
KeyboardsDavid Briggs
HarmonicaTerry McMillan
VocalsKD Lang
VocalsRoy Orbison

5 After The Love Has Gone

BassJames Hutchinson
DrumsRicky Fataar
GuitarMark Goldenberg
MandolinMark Goldenberg
OrganDon Was
PianoBenmont Tench
AccordionMark Goldenberg
PercussionLenny Castro
Background VocalsEverett Drake
Background VocalsFrancine Reed
Background VocalsWayne Murray
Background VocalsWillie Green
ChorusAndrew Gold
ChorusBarbara Orbison
ChorusBenmont Tench
ChorusDon Was
ChorusDoug Fieger
ChorusMark Goldenberg
ChorusMichael Libow
VocalsRoy Orbison

6 Love In Time

BassLarry Klein
DrumsAlex Acuna
GuitarRobbie Robertson
KeyboardsLarry Klein
PianoJim Cox
CelloLarry Corbett
CelloSuzie Katayama
PercussionAlex Acuna
Background VocalsAlex Brown
Background VocalsJacquelyn Gouche
Background VocalsTony Warren
VocalsRoy Orbison

7 I Drove All Night

All InstrumentsJeff Lynne
VocalsRoy Orbison

8 Wild Hearts Run Out Of Time

BassLarry Paxton
DrumsKenny Buttrey
GuitarBrent Rowan
GuitarLarry Byrom
GuitarSteve Gibson
KeyboardsDavid Briggs
SynthesizerDavid Briggs
VocalsRoy Orbison

9 Coming Home

BassMike Leech
DrumsGene Chrisman
GuitarJR Cobb
GuitarReggie Young
KeyboardsBobby Emmons
KeyboardsBobby Wood
VocalsRoy Orbison

10 Careless Heart (Original Demo)

GuitarJosh Sklair
Background VocalsAlbert Hammond
Background VocalsDiane Warren
VocalsRoy Orbison

Other Musicians

Strings – David Campbell, Ezra Kliger, Henry Corbett, Maria Newman, Pavel Farkas, Sid Page (Track 1)
Viola – Tom Tally (Track 6)
Violin – Armen Garabedian, Berj Garabedian, Charles Bischarat, Joel Derouin (Track 6)

Liner Notes

Producer – T-Bone Burnett (Track 1)
Producer – Jeff Lynne (Tracks 2, 7)
Producer – Don Was (Tracks 3, 4, 5)
Producer – David Was, Pete Anderson (Track 4)
Producer – Robbie Robertson (Track 6)
Producer – David Briggs, Will Jennings (Track 8)
Producer – Chips Moman (Track 9)
Producer – Albert Hammond, Diane Warren, Guy Roche, Roy Orbison (Track 10)
Producer (Additional) – Barbara Orbison, George Massenburg (Track 1)
Production Manager (Assistant) – Jared Levine (Track 6)
Executive Producer – Barbara Orbison
Concertmaster – Joel Derouin (Track 6)
Coordinator (Production, Assisted) – Carrie McConkey (Track 5)
Coordinator (Production) – Marsha Burns (Track 5)
Arranged By – Mike Utley (Track 1)
Arranged By (String) – David Campbell (Tracks 3, 6)
Engineer (Mix) – Don Smith (Track 4)
Engineer (Assistant) – Martin Brumbach (Track 6)
Engineer – Lynn Peterzell (Track 8)
Engineer (Assistant) – Tom Hitchcock (Track 8)
Mastered By – Stephen Marcussen (Tracks 2, 7)
Mastered By, Compiled By – Doug Sax
Mixed By – Richard Dodd (Tracks 2, 7)
Mixed By – Ed Cherney (Track 5)
Mixed By – Jim Scott (Track 6)
Mixed By (Assisted) – Brett Swain (Track 5)
Mixed By – George Massenburg (Track 8)
Mixed By – Albert Hammond, Guy Roche (Track 10)
Recorded By – Rik Pekkonen (Tracks 1, 3, 5)
Recorded By (Additional) – George Massenburg (Track 1)
Recorded By (k.d. lang’s Vocals) – Mark Bingham (Track 1)
Recorded By – Richard Dodd (Tracks 2, 7)
Recorded By (Assisted) – Dan Bosworth (Tracks 3, 5)
Recorded By – Jim Scott (Track 6)
Recorded By – Chips Moman, David Cherry (Track 9)

Art Direction – Mick Haggerty
Design – Kathleen Philpott
Design (Cover) – Tom Dolan
Photography – Bob Sebree

Distributed By – Virgin Records Canada Inc.
Phonographic Copyright (p) – Virgin Records America, Inc.
Copyright (c) – Virgin Records America, Inc.
Recorded At – Ocean Way Recording
Recorded At – Kingsway Studios, New Orleans
Recorded At – The Village Recorder
Recorded At – House of David
Recorded At – Sun Studios
Recorded At – Criterion Studios, Hollywood
Mixed At – Ultrasonic Studios
Mixed At – Conway Studios
Mixed At – The Village Recorder
Mixed At – Ocean Way Recording
Mixed At – Criterion Studios, Hollywood
Mastered At – The Mastering Lab
Mastered At – Precision Mastering