1979 The Mighty Clouds Of Joy – Changing Times

The Mighty Clouds of Joy was formed in 1961 and started out in a tradition-based style. Eventually they added soul, R&B, and rock flourishes into their musical mix (one of their early hits was produced by Gamble and Huff) without diluting the essential religious essence of their material. The long-lived group flourished throughout the rest of the 20th century, scoring numerous Grammy Awards and nominations, as well as several hit albums along the way.

Based in Los Angeles, California, the original group members include Joe Ligon (d. 2016), Johnny Martin (d. 1987), Ermant Franklin Jr., Artis Turnbough (d. 1999), Elmo Franklin (d. 2008), Richard Wallace, Leon Polk and David Walker (who also recorded several tracks with Link Wray under the name Bunker Hill).

Changing Times was their 11th album


1 What About The Price (Leonard Caston) 4:39
2 I’ve Been In The Storm Too Long (James Cleveland) 4:57
3 What A Difference You’ve Made In My Life (Archie Jordan) 3:40
4 Rainy Day Friend (Judy Wieder, Terri McFadden, Terry Bradford) 4:20
5 In These Changing Times (Frank Wilson, Lawrence Brown) 5:54
6 Abundant Life (Isaiah Jones, Josh Hailey) 2:28
7 I Get A Blessing Everyday (James Cleveland) 4:19
8 We’re Blessed (Margaret Doureaux) 3:59
9 We’re Gonna Have A Good Time (James Cleveland) 2:38



Bass  Bruce Carter
Bass  James Jamerson
Bass  James Jamerson Jr
Bass  Nathan Watts
Drums  James Gadson
Drums  James Leroy Galloway
Drums  James Schofield
Drums  Quentin Dennard
Guitar  Paul Jackson Jr
Guitar  Clarence Drayton
Keyboards  Greg Phillinganes
Keyboards  Hampton Carlton
Keyboards  Isaiah Jones
Keyboards  Terry Bradford
Keyboards  Tony Coleman
Horns  John Mitchell
Sax  George Bohanon
Sax  Kurt McGettrick
Sax  Ray Pizzi
Sax  Terry Harrington
Sax  William Green
Trombone  Clay Lawrey
Trumpet  Gary Grant
Trumpet  Oscar Brashear

Liner Notes

Producer – Frank Wilson (Tracks 1, 3, 4, 5, 8)
Producer – James Cleveland (Tracks 2, 6, 7, 9)
Arranged By – Rev. James Cleveland (Tracks 2, 6, 7, 9)
Arranged By (Horns, Strings) – Bruce Miller
Coordinator (Production) – Tina Meeks
Engineer (Recording, Assistant) – Eddie Ashworth, Paul Aronoff, Robert Feist, Robert McAuley
Engineer (Recording) – Gary Skardina, Randy Tominaga
Mixed By, Mastered By – Frank Wilson, Gary Skardina

Design – Nancy Donald
Photography By – Penny Wolin – Semple

Manufactured By – Epic Records
Phonographic Copyright (p) – CBS Inc.
Copyright (c) – CBS Inc.
Produced For – Spec-O-Lite Productions
Recorded At – Music Grinder Studios
Recorded At – Larrabee Sound Studios
Recorded At – Group IV Recording Studios
Mixed At – Music Grinder Studios
Mastered At – Music Grinder Studios