1988 Soundtrack – Off Limits

ost-off-limits-1988Off Limits is a 1988 action-thriller film set during the Vietnam War starring Willem Dafoe and Gregory Hines and directed by Christopher Crowe. The term “off limits” referred to the area where the original crime took place, an area of Saigon off limits to military personnel. The name of the film was changed to Saigon or Saigon: Off Limits when it was released throughout the rest of the world.


1  Questioning Maurice (James Newton Howard) 01:06
2  The War Zone (James Newton Howard) 02:11
3  Nicole’s Theme (James Newton Howard) 02:19
4  Chase (James Newton Howard) 01:00
5  Following Col. Armstrong (James Newton Howard) 02:47
6  Spotting Nicole (James Newton Howard) 01:06
7  Love Theme (James Newton Howard) 01:37
8  Body Bombing (James Newton Howard) 01:45
9  Final Chase (James Newton Howard) 03:27
10  Getting A Look (James Newton Howard) 01:13
11  Arrest (James Newton Howard) 00:55
12  Car Bombing (James Newton Howard) 02:25
13  Nam Is Dead (James Newton Howard) 00:54
14  Bombing (James Newton Howard) 02:46
15  Sgt. Flowers (James Newton Howard) 01:40
16  Sapper Chase (James Newton Howard) 02:07
17  The Viet Cong Post (James Newton Howard) 02:59
18  Killer (James Newton Howard) 01:40
19  Love Theme-Reprise (James Newton Howard) 01:40


GuitarMike Landau
GuitarBasil Fung
KeyboardsJames Newton Howard
SynthesizerJames Newton Howard
SynclavierRobbie Weaver
PercussionJoe Porcaro
PercussionJeffrey Porcaro
PercussionEmil Richards
PercussionMike Fisher

Liner Notes

Producer – James Newton Howard
Producer (Executive) – Richard Kraft
Conductor – Marty Paich
Coordinator – Shari Sutcliffe
Engineer – Jack Joseph Puig, Michael Mason, Ross Pallone
Mixed By – John Vigran
Orchestrated By – Brad Dechter
Recorded By – Shawn Murphy, John Vigran
Score Editor – Ted Whitfield
Sequenced By – Tom Null

Mastered At Amigo Studios
Recorded At Todd-AO Scoring Stage
Recorded At Sony Scoring Stage
Phonographic Copyright Twentieth Century Fox Film Corporation
Copyright Twentieth Century Fox Film Corporation