1976 Mr.Big – Photographic Smile

Mr Big were a British pop rock band, active in the 1970s and 1990s. They were formed by Jeffrey Robert Pain (aka Dicken) and best known for their 1977 Top 5 hit, “Romeo”. The band was originally active from 1972–78 and then for a second period from 1990–98.

The members of Mr Big had been playing together since the late 1960s, under the name ‘Burnt Oak’. They first played under the name, ‘Mr Big’, in 1972, at the Marquee Club in Wardour Street, London, when the manager billed them as Mr Big instead of Burnt Oak. The manager refused to change it, so it stuck for the rest of the band’s career.

In 1976, Mr Big embarked on their own UK headline tour and supported Sweet on their tour of Europe, performing on TV in Denmark, the Netherlands and the UK. Mr Big were also the first British band to be signed to Clive Davis’s Arista Records in America. They recorded their second album, Mr Big, in Los Angeles, California, with Val Garay.


1  Photographic Smile (Dicken) 3:22
2  Wonderful Creation (Dicken) 3:44
3  Louisiana Street (Dicken, Val Garay) 2:18
4  What Color Is The Wind (Dicken) 3:25
5  I Ain’t Been A Man (Dicken) 3:42
6  Sweet Silence (Dicken) 5:22
7  Zambia (Dicken) 4:26
8  Feel Like Calling Home (Dicken, Flemming Rasmusen) 3:33
9  Romeo (Dicken, Edward Carter) 2:40
10 Can We Live Angel Of My Life (Dicken) 7:13
11  Easy (Dicken) 3:43



Bass Peter Crowther
Drums Vince Chaulk
Drums Simon Phillips
Drums Jim Keltner
Drums John Burnip
Guitar Dicken
Acoustic Guitar Dicken
Acoustic Guitar Peter Crowther
12 String Guitar Edward Carter
Sitar Dicken
Organ Keith Barbour
Piano Jai Winding
Harmonica Edward Carter
Strings David Campbell
Trombone Robert Hirschman
Percussion Andrew Gold
Background Vocals Vince Chaulk
Vocals Edward Carter
Vocals Dicken

Liner Notes

Producer – John Punter (Tracks 1, 3, 4, 8, 9, 10)
Producer – Val Garay (Tracks 2, 5, 6, 7)
Engineer – Val Garay
Mastered By – Doug Sax

Art Direction – Cream
Photography By – Mosche Brackha

Manufactured By – Toshiba EMI Ltd
Phonographic Copyright (p) – Robert Hirschman
Recorded At – Morgan Studios
Overdubbed At – The Sound Factory
Mixed At – The Sound Factory
Mastered At – The Mastering Lab