1995 Soundtrack – Outbreak

ost-outbreak-1995Outbreak is a 1995 American medical disaster film directed by Wolfgang Petersen and loosely based on Richard Preston’s nonfiction book, The Hot Zone. It stars Dustin Hoffman, Rene Russo and Morgan Freeman, and co-stars Cuba Gooding Jr., Kevin Spacey, Donald Sutherland and Patrick Dempsey.

The film focuses on an outbreak of a fictional Ebola-like virus, Motaba, in Zaire and later in a small town in the United States. It is primarily set in the United States Army Medical Research Institute of Infectious Diseases and the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention and the fictional town of Cedar Creek, California. Outbreak‘s plot speculates how far military and civilian agencies might go to contain the spread of a deadly, contagious disease.


1  Main Titles (James Newton-Howard) 03:22
2  Motaba River Vally (James Newton-Howard) 01:02
3  Final Authorization (James Newton-Howard) 02:36
4  White Flags (James Newton-Howard) 01:47
5  Casey Rips His Suit (James Newton-Howard) 02:24
6  Finding The Ship (James Newton-Howard) 01:44
7  Casey Goes Down (James Newton-Howard) 02:05
8  Robbie’s Bedside (James Newton-Howard) 02:39
9  Jimbo Gets Sick (James Newton-Howard) 01:44
10  Cedar Creek Exodus (James Newton-Howard) 01:09
11  A Little Resistance (James Newton-Howard) 02:50
12  They’re Coming (James Newton-Howard) 07:16



Acoustic GuitarDean Parks
SynthesizerBob Daspit
SynthesizerSteve Porcaro
PercussionJoe Porcaro
PercussionLenny Castro
PercussionEmil Richards
PercussionMike Fisher

Liner Notes

Producer – James Newton Howard
Co-producer – Michael Mason
Producer (Executive) – Robert Townson
Arranged By (African Chorale) – Lebo M
Concertmaster – Stuart Canin
Conductor (LA Master Chorale) – Paul Salamunovich
Conductor (Orchestra) – Artie Kane
Contractor (Music Contractor) – Sandy De Crescent
Edited By (Assistant Music Editor) – David Olson
Edited By (Music Editor) – Jim Weidman
Mastered By (Album) – Joe Gastwirt
Mixed By – Shawn Murphy
Orchestrated By – Brad Dechter, Chris Boardman, James Newton Howard, Robert Elhai
Other (Executive In Charge Of Music For Warner Bros.) – Gary LeMel
Percussion (Additional) – Emil Richards, Joe Porcaro, Lenny Castro, Michael Fisher
Programmed By (Additional Synthesizer) – Bob Daspit, Steve Porcaro
Recorded By (Additional) – Bob Schaper, Michael Mason
Recorded By (Scoring Recordist) – David Marquette
Recorded By – Shawn Murphy

Manufactured By – Varèse Sarabande
Recorded At – Todd-AO Scoring Stage
Mixed At – Todd-AO Scoring Stage
Mastered At – Oceanview Digital Mastering