1980 Average White Band – Shine

average-white-band-1980Average White Band (also AWB) are a Scottish funk and R&B band that had a series of soul and disco hits between 1974 and 1980. They are best known for their million-selling instrumental track “Pick Up the Pieces”, and their albums AWB and Cut the Cake. The band name was initially proposed by Bonnie Bramlett. They have influenced others such as the Brand New Heavies, and been sampled by various musicians including the Beastie Boys, TLC, The Beatnuts, Too Short, Ice Cube, Eric B. & Rakim, Nas, and A Tribe Called Quest, as well as Arrested Development – making them the fifteenth most sampled act in history. As of 2016, forty years after their formation, they continue to perform.


1  Our Time Has Come (Alan Gorrie, Hamish Stuart) 3:37
For You, For Love (Bill Champlin, Roger Ball) 3:52
Let’s Go Round Again (Alan Gorrie) 4:56
4  Whatcha’ Gonna Do For Me (Hamish Stuart, Ned Doheny) 4:10
5  Into The Night (Alan Gorrie, Hamish Stuart, Roger Ball) 3:59
6  Catch Me (Before I Have To Testify) (Alan Gorrie, David Foster, Hamish Stuart, Roger Ball, Steve Ferrone) 5:00
7  Help Is On The Way (Alan Gorrie, David Foster, Hamish Stuart) 4:19
8  If Love Only Lasts For One Night (Alan Gorrie) 4:38
9  Shine (Alan Gorrie, Hamish Stuart, Roger Ball) 3:56

The Band

Bass Alan Gorrie
Drums Steve Ferrone
Guitar Onnie McIntyre
Guitar Hamish Stuart
Keyboards Roger Ball
Sax Malcolm Duncan
Sax Roger Ball
Percussion Steve Ferrone
Vocals Hamish Stuart
Vocals Alan Gorrie

Other Musicians

Sax  Ernie Watts
Sax  Kim Hutchcroft
Sax  Larry Williams
Sax  Malcolm Duncan
Trombone  Bill Reichenbach
Trombone  Lew McCreary
Trumpet  Gary Grant
Trumpet  Jerry Hey
Trumpet  Larry Hall
Percussion  Lenny Castro
Percussion  Paul Lani
Percussion  Paulinho Da Costa
Background Vocals  Brenda Russell

Liner Notes

Producer – David Foster
Arranged By (Horns, Strings) – David Foster, Jerry Hey, Roger Ball
Concertmaster – Gerald Vinci
Contractor (Strings) – Frank DeCaro
Engineer (Additional) – Mark Linett
Engineer (Assistant) – Craig Widby, David Leonard, Jeff Borgeson, Joe Laux, Ron Pendragon
Engineer, Mixed By – Humberto Gatica
Programmed By (Synthesizer) – Michael Boddicker, Ralph Dyck

Recorded At – Sunset Sound
Recorded At – Davlen Sound Studios
Mixed At – Nova Sound Studios, Los Angeles