1979 Neil Larsen – High Gear

larsen-neil-1979Neil Larsen ( Cleveland (Ohio) , 7 August 1948 ) is an American player of all kinds of keyboard instruments , mainly electronic.

Larsen grew up in Sarasota , Florida . From Florida Larsen went first to New York City , the former center of the music. When that part of California came to be (think Hotel California by The Eagles ) Larsen moved along. Larsen played as a studio musician (ie no fixed band ) on a number of albums of others including that of Rickie Lee Jones with her single Chuck E.’s in Love . Also, George Harrison and Kenny Loggins switched him. Larsen himself was more fond of jazz-rock / fusion and came into its own in the band Larsen Facts Band, along with the Buzz Feiten . Earlier they played together at Full Moon .

From 1978, Neil Larsen was also allowed a number of solo albums to record, which in Europe have remained virtually unknown. They came out on the first American record label A & M Records . His music was also performed by third parties. Larsen was often called in by producers Stewart Levine , Lenny Waronker , Russ Titelman , Tommy Lipuma ; Larsen which last brought into contact with A & M.

Artists who have recorded with Larsen: Don McLean , Dan Fogelberg , Ray Baretto and Bonnie Bramlett . George Benson , Gregg Allman and even Miles Davis took compositions by him. In the first years of the 21st century toured Larsen with BB King , Robben Ford, Rickie Lee Jones and Gregg Allman and Will Smith . With Robben Ford, Will Smith and Diana Krall he was back in the recording studio . 2008 brought him a tour with Leonard Cohen . During that tour, the music press noted how unremarkable Larsen was always present, playing his Hammond organ.


1  High Gear (Neil Larsen) 4:56
2  Demonette (Neil Larsen) 5:00
3  Futurama (Neil Larsen) 5:06
4  This Time Tomorrow (Neil Larsen) 4:34
5  Nile Crescent (Neil Larsen) 6:09
6  Rio Este (Neil Larsen) 3:52
7  Night Letter (Neil Larsen) 3:43



Bass Abraham Laboriel Sr
Drums Steve Gadd
Guitar Buzz Feiten
Keyboards Neil Larsen
Sax Michael Brecker
Percussion Paulinho Da Costa

Other Musicians

3 Futurama

Background Vocals Lenny Castro
Background Vocals Rickie Lee Jones

5 Nile Crescent

Flute Joe Farrell

Liner Notes

Producer – Tommy LiPuma
Producer (Assistant) – Noel Newbolt
Arranged By (Arp Arrangements) – Nick DeCaro
Engineer (Assistant Engineers) – Don Henderson, Linda Tyler
Mastered By – Mike Reese
Mixed By – Al Schmitt
Recorded By – Norm Kinney, Al Schmitt

Art Direction – Roland Young
Design (Album Design) – Chuck Beeson
Photography By – Elizabeth Lennard

Recorded At – Sound Labs, Hollywood
Recorded At – Capitol Studios
Mixed At – Capitol Studios
Mastered At – The Mastering Lab
Manufactured By – A&M Records, Inc.
Pressed By – Columbia Records Pressing Plant, Terre Haute