2012 Don Felder – Road To Forever

felder-don-2012Road to Forever is Don Felder‘s second solo album, the first since 1983. Road to Forever, was released October 9, 2012.

Rolling Stone (France) called Road to Forever “one of those timeless albums, cut to ride on highways, which we love to know still exist.” while Musicradar.com said: “The album’s 12 cuts are heartfelt and direct, a catchy and soulful musical autobiography that steers clear of mawkish self-indulgence. And Felder’s guitar playing – rendered with but a fraction of his nearly 300 instruments! – is as stirring as ever.” And Premier Guitar praised: “Felder is back with his trademark guitar choirs and hooky riffs.”

Contributors to the album include Randy Jackson, Crosby, Stills and Nash, Steve Lukather, David Paich and Steve Porcaro of Toto and Tommy Shaw of Styx. It was produced by Felder along with Robin DiMaggio.

The album was conceived and written out of the pain Felder felt following the breakup of his marriage in 2000; and his dismissal from the Eagles soon after.

On December 17, 2013 the album was reissued as “Road To Forever – Extended Edition” on the iTunes Store and Amazon MP3 Store. Two of the four bonus tracks (“Can’t Stop Now” and “Southern Bound”) were previously only available on the Japanese pressing of the CD. “Sensuality” had been an iTunes Store-exclusive and “She Runs Free” had been an Amazon MP3 Store-exclusive. “Give My Life”, which is the final track on the CD, remains the last track on the Extended Edition, and appears after the four bonus tracks. The single “You Don’t Have Me” made it to #1 and stayed in the top ten for 11 weeks on the Classic Rock Radio charts and the previous single “Wash Away” reached #4 between Eric Clapton and The Rolling Stones.


1  Fall From The Grace Of Love (Don Felder) 03:44
2  Girls In Black (Don Felder; Frank Simes) 03:36
3  Wash Away (Don Felder; Timothy Drury; Tommy Shaw; Matt Bissonette) 04:16
4  I Believe In You (Don Felder; Timothy Drury) 03:56
5  You Don’t Have Me (Don Felder; Timothy Drury) 03:45
6  Money (Don Felder; Timothy Drury) 04:09
7  Someday (Don Felder; Timothy Drury; Simon Wilcox) 04:11
8  Heal Me (Don Felder; Timothy Drury) 07:20
9  Over You (Don Felder; Timothy Drury) 04:06
10  Road To Forever (Don Felder) 04:57
11  Life’s Lullaby (Don Felder; Timothy Drury) 04:18
12  Give My Life (Don Felder; Dillon Dixon) 04:03



BassChris Chaney
BassLeland Sklar
DrumsRobin DiMaggio
GuitarDon Felder
Pedal Steel GuitarGreg Leisz
Hammond OrganMike Finnigan
KeyboardsSteve Porcaro
KeyboardsAlex Allesandroni
KeyboardsMichael Bearden
KeyboardsTimothy Drury
OrganDavid Paich
PianoDavid Paich
PianoRobin DiMaggio
PianoTimothy Drury
PercussionLenny Castro
Background VocalsTimothy Drury
VocalsDon Felder

Other Musicians

1 Fall From The Grace Of Love

Background VocalsDavid Crosby
Background VocalsGraham Nash
Background VocalsStephen Stills

3 Wash Away

Background VocalsTommy Shaw

6 Money

Background VocalsSean Holt
Background VocalsShane August

7 Someday

BassRandy Jackson

8 Heal Me

BassBakithi Kumalo
GuitarVincent Nguini
Background VocalsBakithi Kumalo
Background VocalsVincent Nguini
Background VocalsSean Holt
Background VocalsTommy Shaw

10 Road To Forever

GuitarSteve Lukather
Background VocalsLeah Felder
Background VocalsShane August

Liner Notes

Producer – Don Felder, Robin Dimaggio
Arranged By (String) – Timothy Drury
Engineer (Second) – Will Brierre
Engineer (Additional) – Steven Miller
Engineer – Ed Cherney
Mixed By – Ed Cherney
Recorded By – Mark Needham, Mikal Blue

Design, Art Direction – Brian Porizek
Photography – Michael Helms, Myriam Santos