1982 Hank Williams Jr – High Notes

williams-jr-hank-1982High Notes is a studio album by American country music artist Hank Williams, Jr. It was released by Elektra/Curb Records in April 1982, making it Williams’ eighth studio album for Elektra/Curb and his ninth overall for the label. While not as successful or acclaimed as some of Williams’ more recent recordings, High Notes was still a commercial success. It peaked at number 3 on the Billboard Top Country Albums charts and was certified Gold by the RIAA, becoming Williams’ seventh album to do so. The album also generated two hit singles, “If Heaven Ain’t a Lot Like Dixie” and “Honky Tonkin'”. “If Heaven Ain’t a Lot Like Dixie” peaked at number 5 on the Billboard Hot Country Singles & Tracks chart while “Honky Tonkin'”, a song that was originally a number 14 hit written and performed by his father, Hank, Sr., became Hank, Jr.’s sixth Number One hit on the Billboard Hot Country Singles & Tracks chart.


1 If Heaven Ain’t A Lot Like Dixie 2:45
2 Whiskey On Ice 2:43
High And Pressurized 2:23
4 I Can’t Change My Tune 3:15
5 The South’s Gonna Rattle Again 3:30
6 Ain’t Makin’ No Headlines (Here Without You) 3:05
7 I’ve Been Down 3:42
8 If You Wanna Get To Heaven 2:21
9 Norwegian Wood (This Bird Has Flown) 3:31
10 Honky Tonkin’ 2:15


Bass David Hungate
Drums Roger Clark
Guitar Billie Walker
Guitar Brent Rowan
Acoustic Guitar Hank Williams Jr
Acoustic Guitar Kenny Bell
Acoustic Guitar Brent Rowan
Acoustic Guitar Randy Scruggs
Steel Guitar Eddie Long
Steel Guitar Sonny Garrish
Mandolin Vernon Derrick
Mandolin Kieran Kane
Banjo Hank Williams Jr
Banjo Bobby Thompson
Banjo Randy Scruggs
Keyboards Steve Nathan
Keyboards Paul Hatfield
Keyboards Hargus Robbins
Harmonica Terry McMillan
Accordion Jo-El Sonnier
Flute Dennis Solee
Sax Dennis Solee
Sax Harvey Thompson
Trumpet Terry Mead
Fiddle Vernon Derrick
Fiddle Buddy Spicher
Fiddle Tommy Williams
Background Vocals Jim Glaser