1980 Mike Rutherford – Smallcreep’s Day

rutherford-mike-1980Smallcreep’s Day is the first studio album from English guitarist Mike Rutherford, released in February 1980 on Charisma Records. It was recorded in 1979 during a period of inactivity from his rock band Genesis, during which Rutherford and Genesis keyboardist Tony Banks recorded their first solo albums at Polar Studios in Stockholm, Sweden. The title track is based on the 1965 novel Smallcreep’s Day by Peter Currell Brown, adapted to have a happy ending.

Rutherford has said that the album was unexpectedly difficult to create, as he had never before realised the extent to which he relied on the other members of Genesis to help make decisions and handle certain aspects of the music. However, he added that it was a good learning experience for him, since it forced him to learn more about vocals, drums, and keyboards than he had known before. Former Genesis band mate Steve Hackett telephoned Rutherford and told him that Smallcreeps’s Day sounded like a great album and was liked by Genesis’ live drummer Chester Thompson also. A live version of “Out Into the Daylight” was covered by Italian band Elio e le Storie Tese.


1 Between The Tick And The Tock 3:59
2 Working In Line 3:08
After Hours 1:44
4 Cats And Rats (In This Neighbourhood) 4:51
5 Smallcreep Alone 1:24
6 Out Into The Daylight 3:53
7 At The End Of The Day 5:38
8 Moonshine 6:26
9 Time And Time Again 4:54
10 Romani 5:27
11 Every Road 4:15
12 Overnight Job 5:44


Bass Mike Rutherford
Drums Simon Phillips
Guitar Mike Rutherford
Keyboards Ant Phillips
Percussion Morris Pert
Vocals Noel McCalla