1984 Laura Branigan – Self Control

branigan-laura-1984Self Control is the third album by American singer Laura Branigan, released in 1984. Two songs from the album were US Top-20 hits, the title song (#4) and “The Lucky One” (#20). The album became Branigan’s biggest commercial success, earning her a Platinum certification in the United States for over 1 million confirmed sales, and selling several million copies worldwide. Branigan also enjoyed huge success in some countries with the single “Ti amo” (her second Umberto Tozzi cover, after “Gloria”), which reached #5 in the Canadian singles chart, but most notably reaching #2 in Australia. The album was a huge success internationally, gaining several sales certifications.

A remastered and expanded edition of the album was released on April 25, 2013 by Gold Legion. Included are remixes of “The Lucky One” and “Satisfaction”, as well as the extended version of “Self Control”.


The Lucky One (Bruce Roberts) 4:11
Self Control (Gaincarlo Bigazzi, Raffaele Riefoli, Steve Piccolo) 4:06
Ti Amo (Gaincarlo Bigazzi, Umberto Tozzi, Diane Warren) 4:16
4  Heart (Warren Hartman, Marie Cain) 4:04
5  Will You Love Me Tomorrow (Gerry Goffin, Carole King) 3:21
6  Satisfaction (Bernd Dietrich, Gerd Grabowski, Engelbert Simons, Mark Spiro, Diane Warren) 3:55
7  Silent Partners (Diane Warren, Steven Angelica) 4:05
8  Breaking Out (Diane Warren, Steven Angelica) 3:45
9  Take Me (John Parker, Steve Kipner) 3:42
10 With Every Beat Of My Heart (Bob Mitchell, Jamie Kaleth) 4:33


BassNathan East
DrumsCarlos Vega
DrumsJR Robinson
GuitarDann Huff
GuitarMike Landau
GuitarPaul Jackson Jr
PianoRobbie Buchanan
SynthesizerRobbie Buchanan
SynthesizerHarold Faltermeyer
SaxLarry Williams
Background VocalsBeth Anderson
Background VocalsBill Champlin
Background VocalsJim Haas
Background VocalsJoe Chemay
Background VocalsJoe Pizzulo
Background VocalsJon Joyce
Background VocalsRichard Page
Background VocalsSteve George
Background VocalsTom Kelly
Background VocalsTommy Funderburk
VocalsLaura Branigan

Liner Notes

Producer – Jack White, Robbie Buchanan
Producer (Executive) – Jack White
Arranged By – Harold Faltermeyer (Tracks 1, 2, 4, 6, 10)
Arranged By – Robbie Buchanan (Tracks 3, 5, 7, 8, 9)
Creative Director – Paul Lohman
Engineer (Additional Engineering) – Gary Skardina, Harold Faltermeyer, Jeremy Smith, Peter Luedemann
Engineer (Assistant Engineers) – Jon Ingoldsby, Keith Buckley, Matt Forger
Engineer (Engineered), Mixed By – Juergen Koppers
Mastered By – Brian Gardner

Art Direction – Bob Defrin
Design – Lynn Dreese Breslin
Photography By (Back Cover) – Daniela Scaramuzza
Photography By (Front Cover Photography) – Tom Lohman

Recorded At – Image Recording Studios
Recorded At – Music Grinder Studios
Recorded At – Arco Studios
Mixed At – Paradise Studio
Mixed At – Westlake Studios
Mastered At – Allen Zentz Mastering
Mastered At – Sheffield Lab Matrix
Manufactured By – Atlantic Recording Corporation
Phonographic Copyright (p) – Atlantic Recording Corporation
Copyright (c) – Atlantic Recording Corporation
Pressed By – Specialty Records Corporation