1978 Lenny Williams – Spark Of Love

Williams, Lenny 1978Spark Of Love was his fourth solo album by Lenny Williams. His 1978 hit song “Cause I Love You” was sampled by Havoc of Mobb Deep for the track “Nothing Like Home”, and by Kanye West for the songs “Overnight Celebrity” by Twista and “I Got A Love” by Jin. The track was sampled a fourth time in 2007 by Scarface for his single “Girl You Know” featuring Trey Songz & Young Jeezy sampled “Let’s Talk It Over” for his single “I Do” featuring Jay-Z and Andre 3000. His song “Half Past Love” was also sampled by The Coup for their 2006 single “My Favorite Mutiny” featuring Black Thought of The Roots and Talib Kweli of Black Star.

Leonard Charles “Lenny” Williams (born February 16, 1945) is an American singer known for his work in the R&B and soul music genres. During the 1970s, he was the lead vocalist for Tower of Power. As a soloist, Lenny Williams made several hit recordings, including 1977’s “Choosing You” and 1978’s “Cause I Love You”.


1  I Still Reach Out (David Stallings, Kenny Chavis, Lenny Williams) 5:38
You Got Me Running (Clay Drayton, Judy Wieder) 7:40
3  Midnight Girl (Frank Wilson, John Footman, Terri McFadden) 6:03
4  Think What We Have (John Footman, Judy Wieder) 4:15
5  Cause I Love You (Lenny Williams, Michael Bennett) 7:09
6  Changes (Angela Winbush, Rene Moore) 5:04
7  Half Past Love (Gary Knight, Gene Allan) 3:38
8  Love Came And Rescued Me (Art Posey, Josef Powell) 4:01


Bass Abraham Laboriel Sr
Bass William Nelson
Bass Nathan Watts
Drums Ed Greene
Drums James Gadson
Drums Ollie E. Brown
Drums Raymond Pounds
Guitar Lee Ritenour
Guitar WahWah Watson
Guitar Clarence Drayton
Guitar David Stallings
Guitar Paul Jackson Jr
Keyboards Greg Phillinganes
Keyboards Leonard Caston
Keyboards Reginald Burke
Piano Norman Landsberg
Synthesizer Michael Boddicker
Sax Fred Jackson
Sax Gary Herbig
Sax Terry Harrington
Trombone Clay Lawry
Trombone Bob Payne
Trumpet Gary Grant
Trumpet Jerry Hey
Percussion Eddie Brown
Percussion Frederick Lewis
Percussion King Errisson
Background Vocals Angela Winbush
Background Vocals Cheryl Lynn
Background Vocals Frank Wilson
Background Vocals Gwen Matthews
Background Vocals Otis Stokes
Background Vocals Tiemeyer McCain

Liner Notes

Producer – Frank Wilson
Arranged By – Frank Wilson
Arranged By (Rhythm) – Bruce Miller (Tracks 1, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8)
Arranged By (Rhythm) – Clarence Drayton (Tracks 2)
Arranged By (Strings) – Bruce Miller (Tracks 1, 2, 3, 5, 7, 8)
Arranged By (Strings) – Jerry Peters (Tracks 4, 6)
Coordinator (Production Coordinator) – Bunny Wilson, Rob Partridge
Mastered By – Jeff Sanders
Mixed By – Frank Wilson
Mixed By, Recorded By – Kevin Beamish
Recorded By (Assistant) – James Hill

Art Direction, Design Concept – Richard Germinaro, Stuart Kusher

Pressed By A.R.E.A.C.E.M.
Recorded At Crystal Sound
Recorded At Kendun Recorders
Mixed At Crystal Sound
Mastered At Crystal Sound
Phonographic Copyright ABC Records Inc
Phonographic Copyright Carrere Distribution
Copyright ABC Records Inc