1978 Dolly Parton – Heartbreaker

parton-dolly-1978Heartbreaker is the 20th solo studio album by Dolly Parton, released in 1978. Released following the huge pop crossover success of Here You Come Again, Heartbreaker was designed as an even more direct aim at the pop charts, with several of its songs verging on disco. The title song, a ballad written by Carole Bayer Sager, topped the U.S. country charts, and became Parton’s third top-forty pop hit, while the follow-up single was the double-A-sided “Baby I’m Burning”/”I Really Got the Feeling”, with “Baby I’m Burnin'” targeted for pop airplay, and “I Really Got the Feeling” for country. The formula (which had previously worked for Here You Come Again’s double-A-sided “Two Doors Down”/”It’s All Wrong, but It’s All Right”) was successful again, with the single reaching #1 on the country charts, and #25 on the pop charts.

Disco remix singles of two of the album’s songs, “Baby I’m Burning” and “I Wanna Fall in Love”were also released and received significant airplay in clubs and discos at the time.

The album cover, a gatefold design depicting Parton in a series of surreal, dream-like images, was designed by graphic artist Ed Caraeff, who’d also designed the cover art for Here You Come Again.

The album stayed at #1 on the Billboard Top Country Albums chart for nine consecutive weeks. It ended up being certified Gold by the Recording Industry Association of America.

The song “Nickles and Dimes” was later covered by Nana Mouskouri on her Roses Love Sunshine album.


1  I Really Got The Feeling (Billy Vera) 3:10
2  It’s Too Late To Love Me Now (Gene Dobbins, Jay Wilson, Rory Bourke) 3:02
3  We’re Through Forever (Blaise Tosti) 3:51
4  Sure Thing (Dolly Parton) 3:33
5  With You Gone (Dolly Parton) 3:07
Baby I’m Burnin’ (Dolly Parton) 2:37
7  Nickels And Dimes (Dolly Parton, Floyd Estel) 3:25
8  The Man (Dolly Parton) 3:17
9  Heartbreaker (Carole Bayer Sager, David Wolfert) 3:35
10  I Wanna Fall In Love (Dolly Parton) 2:25


BassDavid Hungate
DrumsJim Keltner
GuitarDavid Wolfert
GuitarDean Parks
GuitarJeff Baxter
Steel GuitarJoe McGuffee
PianoDavid Paich
PianoDavid Foster
PianoGregg Perry
PianoMac Rebennack
PianoMichael Omartian
FluteLarry Williams
SaxKim Hutchcroft
SaxLarry Williams
TromboneBill Reichenbach
TrumpetSteve Madaio
TrumpetJerry Hey
PercussionPaulinho Da Costa
Background VocalsAngela Winbush
Background VocalsAnita Ball
Background VocalsAugie Johnson
Background VocalsJim Gilstrap
Background VocalsMyrna Matthews
Background VocalsRichard Dennison
Background VocalsStephanie Spruill

Liner Notes

Producer – Dolly Parton, Gary Klein
Producer (Executive) – Charles Koppelman
Arranged By (Horns) – Jerry Hey, Larry Williams (Tracks 4, 5, 5, 7, 10)
Arranged By (Rhythm) – David Wolfert (Tracks 1, 2, 7, 9)
Arranged By (Rhythm) – Dolly Parton (Tracks 5, 8)
Arranged By (Rhythm) – Gregg Perry (Tracks 3, 5, 10)
Arranged By (Strings) – Nick DeCaro (Tracks 1, 3, 8, 9)
Arranged By (Strings) – Gregg Perry (Tracks 2)
Concertmaster – Harry Bluestone
Coordinator (Album), Contractor – Frank DeCaro
Engineer (Assistant) – Don Henderson, Linda Tyler
Engineer, Remix – Armin Steiner

Art Direction, Design – Ed Caraeff Studio
Photography By – Ed Caraeff Studio

Phonographic Copyright (p) – BMG Entertainment
Copyright (c) – Buddha Records
Record Company – BMG Entertainment
Manufactured By – BMG Distribution
Distributed By – BMG Distribution
Produced For – The Entertainment Company