1983 Laura Branigan – Branigan 2

Branigan, Laura 1983Branigan 2 is the second album by singer Laura Branigan, released in March 1983. Two hit singles emerged from the album, the dramatic Martine Clémenceau “Solitaire” and her introduction of the ballad “How Am I Supposed to Live Without You”. The album improved performed better in the charts than her first album in the U.S., Australia and Japan, and Allmusic later wrote that “Laura Branigan’s full, expressive voice shows serious growth” on “a much more cohesive collection” than her debut, commenting that “this album doesn’t waste a single track”.

In addition to establishing Branigan as more than a one-hit wonder after the major success of “Gloria” months before, her second album’s two big hits began the careers for two then-unknowns who themselves became industry legends. While “Solitaire” was originally a French song, its English version provided the first major hit for lyric writer Diane Warren, who co-wrote many of Branigan’s early songs. Allmusic noted that the song, “with its quiet beginnings and pull-out-all-the-stops finale, shows off just what chops this singer has”.

The second single from Branigan 2 was the ballad “How Am I Supposed to Live Without You”, which was the first major hit for its co-writer, Michael Bolton, beginning for him a successful sideline as a songwriter. He later wrote three more songs for Branigan. While “How Am I Supposed To Live Without You” barely missed the Top Ten on the pop charts, it spent three weeks at Number One on the adult contemporary airplay charts. Allmusic called Branigan’s version “far superior” to Bolton’s own hit cover from 1989, “simpler, prettier, and (showing) shades of emotion at which Bolton could only hint”.

Branigan 2 also included the ballad “Find Me”, uptempo tracks “I’m Not The Only One” and “Don’t Show Your Love”, and a cover of The Who’s “Squeeze Box”. One of the album’s tracks, “Deep In The Dark”, was a newly written song to the music of Falco’s “Der Kommissar”. Allmusic called Branigan’s version “sexy” and “welcome” despite a competing English-language remake of the German version the same year by After the Fire.

One of the tracks from the album, “Find Me”, was used as the love theme of the 1983 Robert Hays film Touched.

The album was certified Gold in the United States.


Solitaire (Martine Clémenceau, Diane Warren) 4:05
2  Deep In The Dark (Falco, Robert Ponger, Bill Bowersock) 3:51
3  Close Enough ( Robbie Buchanan, John Lang) 3:42
4  Lucky (Steve Bi) 3:57
5  Squeeze Box (Pete Townshend) 2:59
How Am I Supposed To Live Without You (Michael Bolton, Doug James) 4:26
7  I\’m Not The Only One (Diane Warren, Steve Angelica) 3:22
8  Mama (Umberto Tozzi, Giancarlo Bigazzi, Diane Warren) 3:55
9  Find Me (David Shire, Carol Connors) 3:22
10  Don\’t Show Your Love (Lee Holdridge, Carol Connors) 3:30


BassDennis Belfield
DrumsCarlos Vega
DrumsDoane Perry
GuitarMike Landau
SynthesizerRobbie Buchanan
SynthesizerMichael Boddicker
PercussionLenny Castro
Background VocalsJim Haas
Background VocalsJoe Pizzulo
Background VocalsJon Joyce

Other Musicians

2 Deep In The Dark

GuitarMarty Walsh
Background VocalsEddie Hawkins
Background VocalsJoe Esposito

4 Lucky

Background VocalsEddie Hawkins

5 Squeeze Box

Background VocalsGene Morford

Liner Notes

Producer – Jack White
Co-producer – Robbie Buchanan
Arranged By – Robbie Buchanan
Engineer, Mixed By – Jürgen Koppers
Engineer (Assistant) – John Kovarek, John Van Nest
Mastered By – Brian Gardner
Mixed By – Jürgen Koppers

Art Direction – Bob Defrin
Photography By – Barry Levine

Mastered at Allen Zentz Mastering, Hollywood, California
Recorded and Mixed at Rusk Sound Studio, Hollywood, California
Recorded and Mixed at Allen Zentz Recording Studios, Hollywood, California