1979 Dusty Springfield – Living Without Your Love

Dusty Springfield - Living Without Your LoveLiving Without Your Love is the eleventh studio album recorded by singer Dusty Springfield, and tenth released. The album was recorded in summer 1978 and released in early 1979.

While Living Without Your Love was produced by the at the time fairly inexperienced session musician David Wolfert instead of Roy Thomas Baker, it was another no-expenses-spared Los Angeles production, recorded with more or less the same session musicians as the previous album and partly in the same studios. Living Without Your Love met with the same fate as It Begins Again, charting neither in the US nor the UK.

The album was originally titled Never Trust a Man in a Rented Tuxedo and then also had slightly risqué cover art, picturing a near naked Dusty Springfield coming out of a hotel room shower, only covering herself up with a towel and a man in a tuxedo leaving the room. These plans were however shelved and the album was instead issued under the name Living Without Your Love and new cover art.


1  You’ve Really Got A Hold On Me (William Robinson Jr) 3:49
2  You Can Do It (Ben Weisman, Evie Sands, Richard Germinaro) 4:12
3  Be Somebody (Johnny Vastano, Melissa Manchester, Vini Poncia) 3:24
4  Closet Man (David Foster, Donny Gerrard, Eric Mercury) 4:09
5  Living Without Your Love (David Wolfert, Steve Nelson) 3:36
6  Save Me, Save Me (Albhy Galuten, Barry Gibb) 3:06
7  Get Yourself To Love (Douglas McCormick) 4:06
8  I Just Fall In Love Again (Gloria Sklerov, Larry Herbstritt, Steve Dorff) 3:14
9 Dream On (Carole Bayer Sager, Dennis Mayoff, Franne Golde) 3:32
10 I’m Coming Home Again (Bruce Roberts, Carole Bayer Sager) 3:44



BassScott Edwards
DrumsEd Greene
GuitarJay Graydon
KeyboardsJai Winding
SynthesizerIan Underwood
FlugelhornSteve Madaio
TromboneDick Hyde
TrumpetSteve Madaio
PercussionLenny Castro
PercussionGary Coleman
VibraphoneGary Coleman
Background VocalsBrenda Russell
Background VocalsDiane Brooks
Background VocalsPattie Brooks

Liner Notes

Producer – David Wolfer
Co-producer (Production Associate) – Dusty Springfield
Producer (Executive) – Charles Koppelman, Gary Klein
Arranged By (Horns) – Tom Saviano (Tracks 1, 2, 4, 7)
Arranged By (Horns) – David Wolfert (Track 2)
Arranged By (Rhythm) – David Wolfert (Tracks 1, 2, 3, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10)
Arranged By (Rhythm) – Tom Saviano (Track 4)
Arranged By (Rhythm) – Myles Chase (Track 7)
Arranged By (Strings), Conductor (Strings) – Gene Page (Tracks 5, 6, 9)
Arranged By (Strings), Conductor (Strings) – Nick De Caro (Tracks 3, 8, 10)
Concertmaster – Harry Bluestone
Contractor (Musical Contractor) – Frank De Caro
Coordinator (Production Coordinator for The Entertainment Company) – Linda Gerrity
Engineer (2nd, ABC Recording Studios) – Al Schmitt
Engineer (2nd, CHerokee Recording Studios) – John Weaver, Sheridan Eldridge
Engineer – John Mills
Mastered By – Mike Reese
Remix – John Mills

Art Direction, Design – Bill Burks
Photography By – Ara Gallant

Phonographic Copyright (p) – United Artists Music And Records Group, Inc.
Copyright (c) – United Artists Music And Records Group, Inc.
Produced For – The Entertainment Company
Recorded At – ABC Recording Studios
Recorded At – Cherokee Studios
Recorded At – Sound Labs, Hollywood
Recorded At – United Western Studios
Remixed At – Sound Labs, Hollywood
Mastered At – The Mastering Lab
Manufactured By – United Artists Music And Records Group, Inc.
Record Company – United Artists Music And Records Group, Inc.