1975 Peggy Lee – Mirrors

Lee, Peggy 1975Mirrors is a 1975 album by Peggy Lee, being an A&M Records album of neo-cabaret “art songs” sung by that same Peggy Lee, written and produced by rock & roll pioneers Jerry Leiber and Mike Stoller, mostly arranged & conducted by Johnny Mandel.

“Is That All There Is?” was recorded in January 1969 and originally released as a single on Capitol Records the following September. It reached #11 on the Billboard Pop charts and #1 on the Adult Contemporary charts, and Peggy Lee won a Grammy Award for her performance. This unexpected success provided the impetus for an entire album of similar material. However, instead of recording a fully realized follow-up album, Capitol’s November 1969 Is That All There Is? LP was hastily assembled from one new October recording date and a variety of sessions going back to June 1967, while Miss Lee toured on the strength of the hit. Six years would lapse before Mirrors was recorded, by which time Miss Lee had changed record labels. “Is That All There Is?” was thus not part of the original Mirrors LP; it was first added as a bonus track for the 1989 A&M CD reissue.



1  Is That All There Is? (Jerry Leiber, Mike Stoller) 4:23
2  Ready To Begin Again (Jerry Leiber, Mike Stoller) 3:26
3  Some Cats Know (Jerry Leiber, Mike Stoller) 4:26
4  I’ve Got Them Feelin’ Too Good (Jerry Leiber, Mike Stoller) 2:20
5  A Little White Ship (Jerry Leiber, Mike Stoller) 3:09
6  Tango (Jerry Leiber, Mike Stoller) 5:45
7  Professor Hauptmann’s (Jerry Leiber, Mike Stoller) 6:01
8  The Case of M.J. (Jerry Leiber, Mike Stoller) 2:59
9  I Remember (Jerry Leiber, Mike Stoller) 2:52
10  Say It (Jerry Leiber, Mike Stoller) 4:06



Bass Joe Mondragon
Bass Ray Brown
Bass Fred Seykora
Drums/Percussion Joe Porcaro
Drums/Percussion Alvin Stoller
Drums/Percussion Emil Radocchia
Drums/Percussion Gene Estes
Drums/Percussion Jack Ranelli
Drums/Percussion John Guerin
Drums/Percussion Ken Park
Drums/Percussion Kenneth Watson
Drums/Percussion Larry Bunker
Drums/Percussion Mark Stevens
Drums/Percussion Victor Feldman
Guitar Dennis Budimir
Guitar John Pisano
Guitar Tommy Tedesco
Keyboards Artie Kane
Keyboards Clare Fischer
Keyboards Don Grusin
Keyboards Mike Lang
Keyboards Mike Melvoin
Keyboards Varda Ullman
Accordion Stephen Paietta
Cello Anne Goodman
Cello Dennis Karmazyn
Cello Edgar Lustgarten
Cello Jackie Lustgarten
Cello Jesse Levy
Trombone Charles Loper
Trombone Chauncy Welsch
Trombone Richard Nash
Trombone Kenneth Shroyer
Trombone Mike Vlatkovich
Trombone Phillip Tule
Trumpet Buddy Childers
Trumpet Chuck Findley
Trumpet Joe Burnett
Trumpet Malcolm McNab
Trumpet Paul Hubinon
Trumpet Anthony Terran
Tuba John johnson
Tuba Bill Masonheimer
Viola Allan Harshman
Viola Barbara Thomason
Viola David Schwartz
Viola Julien Barber
Viola Virginia Majewski
Violin Arnold Belnick
Violin Assa Drori
Violin Betty Lamagna
Violin Blanche Belnick
Violin Carl Lamagna
Violin Elliot Rosoff
Violin Erno Neufeld
Violin Gerald Vinci
Violin Guy Lumia
Violin Harry Bluestone
Violin Irving Geller
Violin John Pintavalle
Violin Marcy Dicterow
Violin Mari Tsumura
Violin Norman Carr
Violin Paul Shure
Violin Richard Sortomme
Violin Shari Zippert
Violin Sheldon Sanov
Violin Tony Posk
Violin Wilbert Nuttycombe
Woodwind William Kurasch
Woodwind Abe Most
Woodwind Bill Perkins
Woodwind Bud Shank
Woodwind Gene Cipriano
Woodwind George Young
Woodwind Georgia Alwan
Woodwind Harry Klee
Woodwind Jack Nimitz
Woodwind Jerome Richardson
Woodwind John Neufeld
Woodwind Norman Benno
Woodwind Ronald Langinger
Woodwind Tom Scott

Liner Notes

Producer – Jerry Leiber, Mike Stoller
Arranged By – Johnny Mandel
Engineer (Recording, Mixing) – Hank Cicalo
Engineer (Assistant) – Hank Cicalo, Ellis Sorkin
Conductor – Johnny Mandel

Phonographic Copyright (p) – A&M Records, Inc.
Record Company – A&M Records Ltd.
Recorded At – A&M Studios
Mixed At – A&M Studios