1974 Severin Browne – New Improved

Browne, Severin 1974New Improved was Severin Browne’s second album for Motown Records. Its release in 1974, just a year after Severin’s first album, was ushered in by the release of the hit single “Love Song.” Motown was clever enough to make the B-side of the single the song “Snow Flakes,” from his first album, to help garnish additional sales from the first LP at the same time.
New Improved Severin Browne was heralded by Cash Box magazine which said, “The piano, guitar and vocal virtuosity of Severin Browne are readily apparent when one listens to his new Motown LP, one that captures the talented artist at yet another plateau of his creative development. Browne has a style all his own and tunes such as ‘Tickle My Lips’ and ‘Confession Of A Madman’ define that talent nicely. A contingent of heavy studio musicians helps Severin bring out the best in his material.” The album does indeed feature a “contingent of heavy studio musicians.” Motown spared no expense in securing Russ Kunkel and Jeff Porcaro to play drums, David Hungate on bass, David Paich on piano and accordian, Richard Bennet on guitar and pedal steel, Alan Lindgren on electric piano, synthesizer and mellotron, Joe Porcaro and Bobby Torres on percussion, Steve Leeds on sax, Robert Grinnedge on steel drum and Dean Webb on mandolin. Background vocalists for the album include Jennifer Warren, Carol Carmichael, Bobbi Thomas, and Jules Shear. (source)


1  Love Notes From Denver (Severin Browne) 3:55
2  Tickle My Lips (Severin Browne) 3:22
3  Romance (Jules Shear) 3:17
4  More Dreams In The Sea (Severin Browne) 3:01
5  Confessions Of A Madman (Severin Browne) 3:49
6  Love Song (Severin Browne) 2:45
7  The Sweet Sound Of Your Song (Severin Browne) 2:58
8  Do, Magnolia, Do (Severin Browne) 4:02
9  Cooking School (Severin Browne) 2:35
10  Beginning To Believe (Severin Browne, Patti Dahlstrom) 2:59



BassDavid Hungate
DrumsJeffrey Porcaro
DrumsRuss Kunkel
GuitarSeverin Browne
GuitarRichard Bennett
Pedal Steel GuitarRichard Bennett
MandolinDean Webb
PianoDavid Paich
PianoSeverin Browne
PianoAlan Lindgren
SynthesizerAlan Lindgren
AccordionDavid Paich
PercussionJoe Porcaro
PercussionBobby Torres
Steel DrumsRobert Greenidge

Liner Notes

Producer – Larry Murray
Engineer – Richie Schmitt, Tom Knox

Illustration, Design – Bob Gleason
Photography – Matt Kramer