Michael McDonald

Michael McDonald (born February 12, 1952) is an American musician, singer-songwriter, keyboardist, and record producer known for his distinctive, soulful voice and as a member of the bands The Doobie Brothers (1975-1982, 1987, 2019-present) and Steely Dan (1974). McDonald wrote and sang several hit singles with The Doobie Brothers, including “What a Fool Believes”, “Minute By Minute”, and “Takin’ It to the Streets”. McDonald has also performed as a prominent backing vocalist on numerous recordings by artists including Steely Dan, Christopher Cross, and Kenny Loggins. He is considered an influential figure in the development of the yacht rock genre.

McDonald’s solo career consists of nine studio albums and a number of singles, including the 1982 hit “I Keep Forgettin’ (Every Time You’re Near)”. During his career, McDonald has collaborated with a number of other artists, including James Ingram, David Cassidy, Van Halen, Patti LaBelle, Lee Ritenour, the Winans, Aretha Franklin, the rock band Toto, Grizzly Bear, Joni Mitchell, and Thundercat. He has also recorded for television and film soundtracks. McDonald is the recipient of five Grammy Awards, and was inducted into the Rock & Roll Hall of Fame as a member of The Doobie Brothers in 2020.


Expand and click on the album for more information:


No posts found.


1982 Michael McDonald - If That Is What It Takes
1985 Michael McDonald - No Lookin' Back
1990 Michael McDonald - Take It To Heart
1993 Michael McDonald - Blink Of An Eye
2001 Michael McDonald - In The Spirit
2003 Michael McDonald ‎– Motown
2005 Michael McDonald - Through The Many Winters: A Christmas Album
2008 Michael McDonald - Soul Speak
2014 Donald Fagen, Michael McDonald & Boz Scaggs - Live At Lincoln Center - The Dukes Of September
2017 Michael McDonald - Wide Open
2018 Michael McDonald - Season Of Peace : The Christmas Collection