1989 Don Henley – End Of The Innocence

The End of the Innocence is the third solo studio album by Don Henley, the lead vocalist and drummer for the Eagles. The album was released in 1989, on Geffen Records, this would be his last release on that label. It was also his last solo album of the 1980s and it would be eleven years before he released another solo album, until 2000’s Inside Job.

The album is his best selling album, selling over 6 million copies in the United States alone, peaking at #8. The album featured three Top 40 singles “The End of the Innocence”, “The Heart of the Matter”, and “The Last Worthless Evening”. Those singles reached #8, #21, and #21 respectively. The album also featured “New York Minute” which reached #48 on the charts and was recorded by Don Henley and the Eagles for their live album Hell Freezes Over in 1994. Don Henley won another Grammy and an MTV Video Music Award for the title track. In 2003, the album was ranked at number 389 on the Rolling Stone magazine’s list of the 500 greatest albums of all time.

The song “I Will Not Go Quietly” features Guns N’ Roses vocalist Axl Rose in the background, who at the time was also a member of the same label.


1  The End of The Innocence (Don Henley, Bruce Hornsby) 5:18
2  How Bad Do You Want It? (Don Henley, Danny Kortchmar, Stan Lynch) 3:47
3  I Will Not Go Quietly (Don Henley, Danny Kortchmar) 5:43
4  The Last Worthless Evening (Don Henley, John Corey, Stan Lynch) 6:04
New York Minute (Don Henley, Danny Korchmar, Jai Winding) 6:36
6  Shangri-La (Don Henley, Steve Jordan, Danny Kortchmar) 4:57
7  Little Tin God (Don Henley, Danny Kortchmar, John David Souther) 4:43
8  Gimme What You Got (Don Henley, John Corey, Stan Lynch) 6:13
9  If Dirt Were Dollars (Don Henley, Danny Kortchmar, John David Souther) 4:34
10  The Heart of the Matter (Don Henley, Mike Campbell, John David Souther) 5:23


1 The End of The Innocence

Bass (synthesizer)Jai Winding
KeyboardsBruce Hornsby
PianoBruce Hornsby
SaxWayne Shorter
PercussionMike Fisher

2 How Bad Do You Want It?

BassDanny Kortchmar
DrumsDanny Kortchmar
GuitarDanny Kortchmar
Background VocalsPatty Smyth
Background VocalsValerie Carter

3 I Will Not Go Quietly

BassDanny Kortchmar
DrumsDanny Kortchmar
Guitar (solo)Danny Kortchmar
Acoustic GuitarWaddy Wachtel
Background VocalsAxl Rose

4 The Last Worthless Evening

BassBob Glaub
GuitarMike Campbell
GuitarJohn Corey
KeyboardsJohn Corey
PercussionStan Lynch

5 New York Minute

BassPino Palladino
DrumsJeffrey Porcaro
KeyboardsJai Winding
PianoDavid Paich
StringsDavid Paich
TrumpetSteve Madaio
Background VocalsTake 6

6 Shangri-La

BassPino Palladino
GuitarDanny Kortchmar
KeyboardsDanny Kortchmar
KeyboardsJai Winding
PercussionJim Keltner
Background VocalsCharley Drayton
Background VocalsIvan Neville
Background VocalsTake 6

7 Little Tin God

BassPino Palladino
DrumsDanny Kortchmar
GuitarDanny Kortchmar
KeyboardsDavid Paich

8 Gimme What You Got

BassJohn Corey
DrumsStan Lynch
GuitarDanny Kortchmar
GuitarJohn Corey
Background VocalsEdie Brickell
Background VocalsMelissa Etheridge

9 If Dirt Were Dollars

BassDanny Kortchmar
DrumsDanny Kortchmar
GuitarDanny Kortchmar
PercussionStan Lynch
Background VocalsSheryl Crow
Background VocalsJohn David Souther

10 The Heart of the Matter

BassLarry Klein
DrumsStan Lynch
GuitarMike Campbell
KeyboardsMike Campbell
PercussionStan Lynch
Background VocalsCarmen Twillie
Background VocalsJulia Tillman Waters
Background VocalsMaxine Willard Waters

Liner Notes

Producer – Bruce Hornsby, Don Henley (Track 1)
Producer – Danny Kortchmar, Don Henley (tracks: 2, 3, 5, 6, 7, 9)
Producer – Don Henley, John Corey, Stan Lynch (Tracks 4, 8)
Producer – Danny Kortchmar, Don Henley, Mike Campbell (Track 10)
Engineer – Shelly Yakus
Engineer (Additional) – Bob Vogt, Brian Scheuble, Eddie King, Marc Desisto, Mark McKenna, Rob Jacobs
Engineer (Assistant) – Brian Scheuble
Mastered By – Stephen Marcussen
Mixed By – Rob Jacobs, Shelly Yakus
Mixed By (Assistant) – Rob Jaczko
Recorded By – Greg Ladanyi (Tracks 5, 7, 9)
Technician (A&m Tech Squad) – Bob Borbonus, Dale Asamoto, Fred Bova, Gary Mannon, Gary Myerberg, Jonathan Little, Lars Lyons, Mark Opie, Mike Morongell, Stephen Barncard
Technician (Additional Assistant) – Ed Goodreau, Greg Goldman, Randy Staub, Randy Wine, Tom Banghart

Art Direction – Jeri Heiden
Photography – Alberto Tolot, Stephen Danelian
Photography (Front Cover) – Ken Nahoum

Phonographic Copyright (p) – The David Geffen Company
Copyright (c) – The David Geffen Company
Distributed By – BMG Arista / Ariola Limited
Mastered At – Precision Lacquer
Glass Mastered At – Disctronics B