1981 Herbie Hancock – Magic Windows

Magic Windows is the thirty-second album by jazz pianist Herbie Hancock, released on September 29, 1981 on Columbia. Personnel involved in this album, besides Herbie himself, include among others: Wah-Wah Watson, Ray Parker Jr., Sylvester, Paulinho da Costa, Adrian Belew. (see below for more)

Amongst the other synthesizers employed on this album, an Alpha Syntauri (enhanced Apple computer) was used for some of the tracks.

Liner-notes on the CD version, from “Jazz Originals Series”, say “There are no strings, or other orchestral instruments on this album. All of these orchestrations are performed by Herbie Hancock on various synthesizers.”

Because there is too many to mention what Herbie Hancock plays on this record, here is the overview: Keyboards (Emu Polyphonic Keyboard) Clavinet (Clavitar), Synthesizer (Waves Minimoog, Minimoog, Prophet 5, Oberheim 8 Voice, Yamaha Cs-80, Arp Odyssey, Arp 2600), Clavinet (Hohner), Electric Piano (Rhodes 88 Suitcase Piano), Vocoder (Sennheiser), Synthesizer (Roger Linn Drum Synthesizer), Computer (Modified Apple 2 Plus Microcomputer) and Piano.


1  Magic Number (David Rubinson, Herbie Hancock, Jeffrey Cohen) 7:24
2  Tonight\’s The Night (Jeffrey Cohen) 6:32
3  Everybody\’S Broke (Alphonse Mouzon, Gavin Christopher, Herbie Hancock, Jeffrey Cohen) 7:11
4  Help Yourself (David Rubinson, Herbie Hancock, Jeffrey Cohen, Gavin Christopher) 6:43
5  Satisfied With Love (Herbie Hancock, Jean Hancock) 6:31
6  The Twilight Clone (Adrian Belew, Herbie Hancock) 8:20



1 Magic Number

BassFred Washington
DrumsJR Robinson
GuitarRay Parker Jr
PercussionJuan Escovedo
Background VocalsJeanie Tracy
VocalsSylvester James

2 Tonight\’s The Night

BassHerbie Hancock
DrumsRay Parker Jr
GuitarRay Parker Jr
SaxMichael Brecker
Background VocalsDede Dickerson
Background VocalsNgoh Spencer
Background VocalsVicki Randle
VocalsVicki Randle

3 Everybody\’S Broke

BassLouis Johnson
DrumsJR Robinson
GuitarGeorge Johnson
VocalsGavin Christopher
VocalsVicki Randle

4 Help Yourself

BassEddie Watkins Jr
DrumsJames Gadson
GuitarAl McKay
SaxMichael Brecker
Background VocalsVicki Randle
VocalsGavin Christopher

5 Satisfied With Love

BassFred Washington
DrumsAlphonse Mouzon
GuitarWahWah Watson
VocalsGavin Christopher

6 The Twilight Clone

BassLouis Johnson
DrumsKwasi Dzidzornu
DrumsKwawu Ladzekpo
DrumsMoody Perry
GuitarAdrian Belew
GuitarGeorge Johnson
PercussionPaulinho Da Costa

Liner Notes

Producer – Herbie Hancock, David Rubinson & Friends, Inc.
Engineer (Assistant) – Barbara Issak, Bob Winard, Susan Gottlieb, Wayne Lewis
Engineer (Keyboard) – Bryan Bell
Engineer (Mixdown, Recording) – David Rubinson, Fred Catero, Leslie Ann Jones
Mastered By – Paul Stubblebine

Art Direction, Artwork By (Cover Concept) – David Ross)
Artwork – Howard Gutstadt
Design – Thomas Ingalls + Associates

Phonographic Copyright (p) – CBS Inc.
Copyright (c) – CBS Inc.
Recorded At – The Automatt
Recorded At – Kendun Recorders
Recorded At – The Village Recorder
Recorded At – Ameraycan Studios
Mixed At – The Automatt