2001 The Tubes – World Tour 2001

The Tubes are a San Francisco-based rock band whose 1975 debut album included the hit single “White Punks on Dope”. During its first fifteen years or so, the band’s live performances combined quasi-pornography with wild satires of media, consumerism, and politics. They are also remembered for their 1983 single “She’s a Beauty”, a top 10 U.S. hit with a frequently-played music video in the early days of MTV; and in the 1980 film Xanadu singing the rock portion of the cross-genre song “Dancin'” opposite a big band.

Fee Waybill had already released a solo album (Read My Lips, Capitol Records) in 1984 and was on camera talent for the 1985 MTV Video Awards. He had also happily enjoyed a fruitful writing partnership with fellow Capitol Records label mate Richard Marx, their most popular and well known collaboration being “Edge of a Broken Heart”, recorded by the female band Vixen. Waybill left the band in 1986 [“Fee broke up”, one band member said], leaving the band without a lead singer. Waybill also recorded songs for the soundtracks of “St. Elmos Fire”, “Running Scared” “Dream a Little Dream” and “Nobody’s Perfect.”

In 1993, Fee Waybill rejoined The Tubes. This lineup toured Europe and released two albums, a compilation and the 1996 album Genius of America. David Medd joined in 1996 to play keyboards alongside Cambra. In 2001, the band released a live CD, The Tubes World Tour 2001, and continued to tour. On the live CD a special song called Loveline was written by David Foster, Steve Lukather and Richard Marx. For more information about this song click here.


1 Introduction 0:55
2 Tubes World Tour 5:01
She’s A Beauty 4:40
4 Digidoll 4:21
5 T.V. Is King 3:23
6 Don’t Touch Me There 4:30
7 Tip Of My Tongue 5:33
8 Loveline 3:36
9 Wild Women Of Wongo 4:12
10 Mondo Bondage 4:51
11 White Punks on Dope 5:56
12 Talk to Ya Later 5:44


Bass Rick Anderson
Drums Prairie Prince
Drums Trey Sabatelli
Guitar Roger Steen
Guitar Gary Cramba
Keyboards Gary Cramba
Vocals Fee Waybill
Percussion Prairie Prince
Percussion Trey Sabatelli