2001 Robin DiMaggio – Blue Planet

Robin DiMaggio (born 1971) is a drummer and classical/world percussionist based out of Los Angeles. He has performed/recorded with artists as diverse as Steve Vai, Paul Simon, Diana Ross, and Dr. Dre. He has also worked as a producer/songwriter and a composer/arranger, and produced the albums Road to Forever (2012) by Don Felder of The Eagles and Be Here Then (2014) by Stephen Bishop.

As a drummer and percussionist, DiMaggio has performed/recorded with a variety of artists including Paul Simon, David Bowie, Jackson Browne, Diana Ross, Tupac, Dr. Dre, Luther Vandross, Lil Jon, Martina McBride, Daft Punk, Johnny Cash, and Chris Isaak, among others, as well as sitarist/composer Ravi Shankar and violin maestro L. Shankar.

On September 9, 2013, DiMagio took the role of Musical Director and drummer for the late night TV show the Arsenio Hall Show on CBS  He has since performed with Nelly, Flo Rida, R. Kelly, Billy Ray Cyrus, Gladys Knight, and Earth Wind and Fire, among others. Prior to Arsenio, he was the house band drummer on the CW’s hit game show Oh Sit and TBS’ Lopez Tonight, hosted by George Lopez. In the latter he played with guests such as Slash, Carlos Santana, Jamie Foxx, Puff Daddy, Emilio Estefan, Hector Elizondo, Andrew Dice Clay, Andy Garcia, Lucrecia, Rodrigo y Gabriela, Steel Magnolias, David Guetta, Charlie Wilson, Beth Hart, Los Lobos, George Clinton and Justin Bieber, John Legend, Sergio Mendez, 50 Cent, P. Diddy, and Snoop Dogg. Robin is currently serving as Musical Director to the PGA Gala 67th 68th 69th session at the General Assembly and also serving as Musical Director for the South South Awards year during the General Assembly in Sept at the Majestic Waldorf Astoria N.Y. He has received his re occurring title as musical Director to the United Nations in 2015. Robin also collaborated with legendary Joe Satriani as co Writer and Producer to the new earthsong, Music without Words due out in September 2015.


1  Checkered Past (Steve Porcaro) 06:26
2  Child of Bedouin (Robin DiMaggio; Tal B) 03:20
3  Africa (David Paich; Jeffrey Porcaro) 03:50
4  La Nuit d\’Oran (Robin DiMaggio; Lakshmi Shankar) 02:54
5  Poema do Brasil (Robin DiMaggio; Shane August) 03:09
6  Rue du Triborg (Robin DiMaggio; Sam Garcia) 04:08
7  Baladi (Robin DiMaggio) 05:27
8  Voodoo at the Bayou (Robin DiMaggio) 02:30
9  Cameroon (Armand Sabal-Lecco; Robin DiMaggio) 04:29
10  Walk (Robin DiMaggio) 03:51
11  Song for Christian (Robin DiMaggio; Shayna Ryan) 02:48
12  Riviere du Loup (Robin DiMaggio) 01:30
13  It Happened to Me (Shayna Ryan) 03:46
14  Mallorca (Robin DiMaggio) 02:16
15  Newfoundland (Robin DiMaggio) 00:47



BassMike Porcaro
BassStu Hamm
BassAndre Berry
DrumsRobin DiMaggio
GuitarSteve Lukather
GuitarSteve Vai
KeyboardsSteve Porcaro
KeyboardsDavid Paich
KeyboardsShayna Ryan
KeyboardsRobin DiMaggio
PianoRobin DiMaggio
ViolinLili Haydn

Other Musicians

1 Checkered Past

BassMike Porcaro
GuitarSteve Lukather
KeyboardsSteve Porcaro

14 Mallorca

BassMike Porcaro
GuitarSteve Vai


Liner Notes