1984 Franke and the Knockouts – Makin the Point

Makin’ The Point is the fourth and last album by Franke and the Knockouts. It was released in 1984

Franke and the Knockouts was a short-lived band, formed in New Jersey, USA and fronted by singer/songwriter Franke Previte.

Franke and the Knockouts were signed by Millennium Records in 1981 and had three U.S. Top 40 singles and two Top 50 albums. The group’s biggest hit, “Sweetheart,” was written by Previte along with Knockouts guitarist Billy Elworthy, peaking at #10 in the U.S. in June of 1981. They also wrote and released the original versions of Eric Carmen’s 1987 hit single “Hungry Eyes” as well as the song “(I’ve Had) The Time of My Life,” (both of which were featured in the 1987 film Dirty Dancing), and it would also earn Previte an Academy Award for Best Original Song.

After Millennium folded, the band switched to MCA Records in 1984. They released an album, which wasn’t as successful as their other two. The group disbanded in 1986.


1  Outrageous (Billy Elworthy, Blake Levinsohn, Franke Previte, Norman Mershon, Tommy Ayers) 4:49
2  You Don’t Want Me (Like I Want You) (Billy Elworthy, Blake Levinsohn, Franke Previte, Norman Mershon, Tommy Ayers) 4:23
3  Come Rain Or Shine (Blake Levinsohn, Franke Previte) 3:41
4  You’re All That Really Matters (Franke Previte, Mark Kreider, Norman Mersohn) 4:56
5  Carrie Why? (Bobby Messano, Franke Previte, Norman Mersohn) 3:13
6  So Cool (Nobody’s Fool) (Billy Elworthy, Blake Levinsohn, Franke Previte, Len Boone) 3:40
7  One Good Reason (Blake Levinsohn, Franke Previte) 3:34
8  Blame It On My Heart (David LeBolt, Franke Previte, Norman Mersohn) 4:03
9  Can’t Get Enough Of You (Blake Levinsohn, Franke Previte, Bobby Messano, Sam Bryant) 3:58
10  Hungry Eyes (John NeNicola, Franke Previte) 3:57



BassLeigh Foxx
DrumsTico Torres
GuitarBobby Messano
SynthesizerTommy Ayers
VocalsFranke Previte

Other Musicians

3 Come Rain Or Shine

DrumsJeffrey Porcaro*



BassNathan East
GuitarBilly Yelworthy
KeyboardsKim Bullard
PianoBlake Levinsohn
SaxMarc Russo
PercussionLenny Castro


Liner Notes

Producer – Bill Schnee
Arranged By – Franke & The Knockouts
Engineer – Bill Schnee
Engineer (Assistant) – Dan Garcia, David Schober
Engineer (Basic Tracks) – Jack Puig
Mastered By – Doug Sax
Mixed By – Franke Previte, John Van Nest (Tracks 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7)
Mixed By – Pat Glasser (Track 1)
Mixed By – Bobby Messano (Tracks 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7)
Mixed By – Bill Schnee (Tracks 8, 9)

Art Direction – J. J. Stelmach
Photography By – Nick Sangiamo

Manufactured By – MCA Records, Inc.
Phonographic Copyright (p) – MCA Records, Inc.
Copyright (c) – MCA Records, Inc.
Pressed By – MCA Pressing Plant, Gloversville
Recorded At – The Mastering Lab
Mixed At – The Mastering Lab
Mastered At – Allen Zentz Mastering