1999 Larry Klimas – Retro-Spec(t)

Larry Klimas is one of LA’s top horn players. Born and raised in Chicago Illinois, Larry was a member of the group Puzzle when they signed a recording contract with Motown Records. Next was a move to Los Angeles in 1972. Three albums later, after the band ran its course, Larry started his career as a freelance player. He was soon working with top local groups both on stage and in the studio. In 1980, after the loss of Charles Miller, Larry auditioned for the band War and got the job as their new sax player. This is when his association with Lee Oskar began and continues to the present. Some of Larry’s recent credits include Manhattan Transfer, Neil Diamond and the group Chicago. He also has two solo CD’s. Retro-spect and The Ledge. Larry plays an important role at Lee Oskar Productions as one of our talented staff musicians, and has given voice to some of our favorite and bestselling Tone Freak characters.

Larry has toured with many of the biggest acts for over twenty years. Among them are Neil Diamond, Chicago, War, Joe Sample, The Manhattan Transfer, Billy Ocean, Randy Crawford………..he has written and played on countless jingles and been on many soundtracks. Also through the years he has performed with George Cables, Dave Liebman, Ernie Watts, Lee Oskar, Steve Lukather…..He brings the best of all these experiences to his own music on “The Ledge”. Larry is also featured extensively With The Le Duex Love Orchestra on their latest release “King Kong” Source.


1  Bawls (Larry Klimas) 4:50
2  Off The Beaten Path (Larry Klimas) 5:40
3  Ganja (Larry Klimas) 6:08
4  What’s Goin’ On (Renaldo Benson, Al Cleveland, Marvin Gaye) 6:01
5  Desire (Larry Klimas) 5:04
6  Stranger Things Have Happened (Larry Klimas) 4:43
7  Under Your Spell (Larry Klimas) 4:55
8  That’s The Beauty Of It (Larry Klimas) 5:04
9  One For The Old Man (Larry Klimas) 4:00



1 Bawls

BassJohn Pierce
DrumsVinnie Colaiuta
GuitarMike Landau
KeyboardsDavid Garfield
SaxLarry Klimas
PercussionLenny Castro

2 Off The Beaten Path

BassJimmy Johnson
DrumsSimon Phillips
GuitarRicardo Silveira
KeyboardsDavid Garfield
HornRick Braun
SaxLarry Klimas
TrumpetRick Braun
TromboneNick Lane

3 Ganja

BassJohn Pena
DrumsGregg Bissonette
GuitarSteve Farris
GuitarMike Miller
KeyboardsDavid Garfield
FluteLarry Klimas
HornRalph Rickert
SaxLarry Klimas
PercussionLuis Conte

4 What’s Goin’ On

BassJason Scheff
DrumsSteve Ferrone
GuitarTim Pierce
KeyboardsDavid Garfield
SaxLarry Klimas
Background VocalsJoseph Williams
Background VocalsJason Scheff
Background VocalsBill Champlin

5 Desire

Drums (programming)Arthur Barrow
BassJames Earl
SaxLarry Klimas

6 Stranger Things Have Happened

BassArthur Barrow
Drums (programming)Arthur Barrow
GuitarMike Miller
Fender RhodesDavid Garfield
OrganArthur Barrow
PercussionCarlos Vega
PercussionPat Murphy

7 Under Your Spell

BassArthur Barrow
Drums (programming)Arthur Barrow
KeyboardsDavid Garfield
SaxLarry Klimas
PercussionCarlos Vega

8 That’s The Beauty Of It

BassNathan East
DrumsCarlos Vega
GuitarSteve Lukather
KeyboardsDavid Garfield
HornWalt Fowler
SaxLarry Klimas
SaxErnie Watts
SaxBrandon Fields
TrumpetWalt Fowler

9 One For The Old Man

BassJames Earl
DrumsDave Karasony
Drums (programming)Arthur Barrow
Fender RhodesDavid Garfield
SaxLarry Klimas
PercussionGreg Ellis

Liner Notes

Producer – Larry Klimas
Producer – David Garfield (Tracks 1, 2, 3, 4, 8)
Producer – Simon Phillips (Tracks 2)
Producer – John Peña (Tracks 3)
Producer – Jason Scheff (tracks: 4)
Arranged by – Bill Champlin,Joseph Williams (Track 4)
Arranged by – Larry Klimas (Tracks 5, 6, 9)
Arranged by – David Garfield (Track 8)
Engineer – Arthur Barrow (Tracks 5, 6, 7, 9)
Engineer – Scott Carlson, Dave DeMore, Alan Hirshberg, J.J. Blair (Track 1)
Engineer – Simon Phillips, John Lefwich, Steve Sykes (Track 2)
Engineer – John Pena, Steve Sykes (Track 3)
Engineer – Darren Mora (Track 4)
Engineer – Alan Hirshberg (Track 8)
Engineer (Assistant) – Billy Sherwood (Track 3)
Engineer (Assistant) – Morris Less (Track 4)
Mastered By – John Pena
Mixed by – Michael Landau (Track 1)
Mixed by Simon Phillips (Track 2)
Mixed by Steve Sykes (Tracks 3, 4, 8)

Layout, Design – Blue Johnson
Photography By – Deidre Davidson

Mastered At – Johnny Slamm Studio
Recorded At – Lotek Studio