1972 Jackson Browne – Jackson Browne

Jackson Browne is the eponymous debut album of singer Jackson Browne released in 1972. It peaked on the Billboard 200 chart at number 53. Two singles were released with “Doctor My Eyes” peaking at number 8 on the Pop Singles chart and “Rock Me On the Water” reaching number 48.

The album is often mistakenly called Saturate Before Using, because the words appear on the album cover, which was designed to look like a water bag that would require saturation in order to cool its contents by evaporation. For this very reason, Asylum Records executives suggested to no avail that the words be removed from the album cover and nearly rejected the cover art outright. However, the initial pressings not only included the text, but the cover carried a burlap-like feel to further the water bag theme.

The confusion over the title returned when the album was converted to CD format, when the words appeared on the spine of the jewel case as the album title.

Browne told the story of the cover’s creation and spoke of the title’s confusion in an interview with the album designer Gary Burden for his 2002 DVD Under The Covers: “I remember being on the phone with Gary… talking about what the album cover should be, and I happened to be in a room that had a water bag on the wall. It was just one of the things that I collected driving around on trips and stuff. And I was looking at this bag as he was saying ‘what do you think it ought to be?’ I was thinking, ‘well, it could be a water bag.’ … it said ‘saturate before using’ on the front … ‘You know, Gary, on mine, it says this on the back.’ And you said, well, so?’ And ‘if you put it on the front, people are going to think that’s the title.’ And you said, ‘don’t be ridiculous. Who would think that was the title?’ I said, ‘Yeah, you’re right.’ So, not only does everyone think that’s the title of that album, but my record company thinks that’s the title of the album.”


1  Jamaica Say You Will (Jackson Browne) 3:25
2  A Child In These Hills (Jackson Browne) 3:59
3  Song For Adam (Jackson Browne) 5:23
Doctor My Eyes (Jackson Browne) 3:17
5  From Silver Lake (Jackson Browne) 3:49
6  Something Fine (Jackson Browne) 3:48
7  Under The Falling Sky (Jackson Browne) 4:10
8  Looking Into You (Jackson Browne) 4:18
Rock Me On The Water (Jackson Browne) 4:14
10  My Opening Farewell (Jackson Browne) 4:44


BassLeland Sklar
DrumsRuss Kunkel
Acoustic GuitarJackson Browne
Pedal Steel GuitarPete Kleinow
PianoJackson Browne
ViolinDavid Campbell
HarmonicaJim Fadden
Background VocalsDavid Crosby

Other Musicians

1 Jamaica Say You Will

Acoustic GuitarClarence White

2 A Child In These Hills

GuitarAlbert Lee

4 Doctor My Eyes

GuitarJesse Davis

5 From Silver Lake

PianoCraig Doerge
VocalsLeah Kunkel

7 Under The Falling Sky

GuitarAlbert Lee
PianoDavid Jackson

9 Rock Me On The Water

PianoCraig Doerge

10 My Opening Farewell

PianoCraig Doerge

Liner Notes

Producer – Richard Sanford Orshoff
Engineer – Richard Sanford Orshoff

Art Direction – Gary Burden
Photography By (Cover Photo) – Henry Diltz

Manufactured By – Atlantic Recording Corporation
Copyright (c) – Atlantic Recording Corporation
Pressed By – Presswell
Mastered At – Atlantic Studios