1977 Alan O’Day – Appetizers

Alan Earle O’Day (October 3, 1940 – May 17, 2013) was an American singer-songwriter, best known for writing and singing “Undercover Angel,” a million-selling Gold-certified American #1 hit in 1977. He also wrote songs for several other notable performers, such as 1974’s Helen Reddy #1 hit “Angie Baby” and the Righteous Brothers’ #3 Gold hit “Rock and Roll Heaven”. In the 1980s he moved from pop music to television, co-writing over 100 songs for the Saturday morning Muppet Babies series, and in the 1990s he wrote and performed music on the National Geographic series Really Wild Animals.

Alan O’Day released his first solo album, Caress Me Pretty Music in 1973. The album was not a major commercial success and he temporarily put his recording career on hiatus.

In 1977, Warner Bros. Records formed a label for their composers who also performed. O’Day was the first artist signed, and the first release was “Undercover Angel.” The song, which he described as a “nocturnal novelette,” was in February 1977. Within a few months it had become #1 in the country, and has sold approximately two million copies. It was also a hit in Australia, reaching #9 on the Australian Singles Chart. (“Undercover Angel” also landed O’Day in an exclusive club as one of only a handful of writers/performers to pen a #1 hit for themselves and a #1 for another artist.)

A follow-up single, “Started Out Dancing, Ended Up Making Love” stalled at #73, marking O’Day’s second and last appearance on the US charts. Three years later, in March 1980, a song called “Skinny Girls” reached #11 on the Australian Singles Chart. In 1981, O’Day co-wrote “Your Eyes” with singer-songwriter Tatsuro Yamashita, which became a hit in Japan.

O’Day left Warner Brothers in 1982 to write and self-publish. In 1983, he was invited to Tokyo to co-write six more songs with Yamashita for his album Big Wave. The collaboration yielded a Gold Disc Award in Japan.

In February 2013, the label 1st Phase Records released a new album titled “Make Me Believe” (featuring Paul Scott), including two new original songs co-written by O’Day: “Uh-Uh (What She Wants),” and an unofficial NASCAR national anthem titled “NASCAR CRAZY.” O’Day also produced on the album.


1  Soldier Of Fortune (Alan O’Day) 3:20
2  Satisfied (Alan O’Day) 3:35
Started Out Dancing, Ended Up Making Love (Alan O’Day) 3:32
4  Gifts (Alan O’Day) 3:39
5  Slot Machine (Alan O’Day) 3:53
Undercover Angel (Alan O’Day) 4:11
7  Do Me Wrong, But Do Me (Alan O’Day) 3:33
8  Catch My Breath (Alan O’Day) 3:30
9  Angie Baby (Alan O’Day) 3:53
10  Caress My Pretty Baby (Alan O’Day) 3:42


BassLeland Sklar
BassScott Edwards
DrumsJeffrey Porcaro
GuitarDean Parks
GuitarJay Graydon
KeyboardsAlan O’Day
KeyboardsMichael Omartian
HornsTony Terran
SaxFred Selden
SaxJim Horn
TrumpetSteve Madaio
PercussionSteve Barri
PercussionVictor Feldman
Background VocalsCarol Parks
Background VocalsJim Haas
Background VocalsMichael Omartian

Liner Notes

Producer – Michael Omartian (Tracks 1, 6), Steve Barri (Tracks 2, 3, 4, 5, 7, 8 9, 10)
Arranged By – Michael Omartian
Arranged By (Rhythm Tracks Arranged By) – Dean Parks (Tracks 3, 4)
Concertmaster (Strings) – Sidney Sharp

Design, Photography By – Jimmy Wachtel

Record Company – Warner Communications
Phonographic Copyright (p) – Pacific Records
Copyright (c) – Pacific Records
Distributed By – Atlantic Recording Corporation
Recorded At – Kendun Recorders
Pressed By – Presswell