1991 Nia Peeples – Nia Peeples

The selftitled album by Nia Peeples is her second solo album, releases in 1991.

Virenia Gwendolyn “Nia” Peeples (born December 10, 1961) is an American R&B and dance music singer and actress. She is perhaps best known for her role as Nicole Chapman on Fame. She is also known for her role as Emily Fields’ mother on Pretty Little Liars, as Karen Taylor Winters on The Young and the Restless, and as Sydney Cooke on Walker, Texas Ranger.
In 1988 she hit #1 on the Hot Dance Music/Club Play chart with “Trouble,” which climbed to #35 on the Hot 100. Her most successful pop single is “Street Of Dreams,” which hit #12 on the Billboard Hot 100 in 1991.
She made a music video in 1986 of “All You Can Dream”, directed by Alan Bloom and conceptualised by Keith Williams, for the purposes of promoting the values of UCLA. She appeared in Prince’s video for Raspberry Beret.
On February 4, 2009, Peeples presented Debbie Allen with a Lifetime Achievement Award at The Carnival: Choreographer’s Ball 10th anniversary show.


Kissing The Wind (Bob Mitchell; Phil Radford) 4:56
2  Street Of Dreams (Carl Sturken; Evan Rogers) 4:23
3  Faces Of Love (Carl Sturken; Evan Rogers) 5:28
4  You Make Me Wanna (Nia Peeples; Tom Kelly; Billy Steinberg) 3:48
5  Hurricane (Carl Sturken; Evan Rogers; Nia Peeples) 4:39
6  The Entity (Sex) (Bernadette Cooper) 4:27
7  Heaven Help Me (Andres Levin; Carmus Celli; Nia Peeples) 4:34
8  Every Word (Don Schiff; Nia Peeples; Tully Winfield) 4:26
9  King Of Cool (Bret Mazur; Richard Wolf) 4:38
10  Shut Up & Fix It (Bret Mazur; Nia Peeples; Richard Wolf) 3:56


1 Kissing The Wind

DrumsJim Blair
GuitarSteve Lukather
SynclavierJohn Barnes
Background VocalsHoward Hewett
Background VocalsChristine McEvily
Background VocalsAlex Brown
VocalsNia Peeples

2 Street Of Dreams

All InstrumentsCarl Sturken
Background VocalsEvan Rogers
VocalsNia Peeples

3 Faces Of Love

BassJohn Nevin
GuitarCarl Sturken
KeyboardsCarl Sturken
Background VocalsEvan Rogers
Background VocalsNadirah Ali
VocalsHoward Hewett
VocalsNia Peeples

4 You Make Me Wanna

BassRhett Lawrence
DrumsRhett Lawrence
GuitarPaul Jackson Jr
KeyboardsRhett Lawrence
SaxDave Boruff
Background VocalsKimaya Seward
Background VocalsValerie Davis
VocalsNia Peeples

5 Hurricane

Guitar (solo)Michael Thompson
GuitarCarl Sturken
KeyboardsCarl Sturken
Background VocalsEvan Rogers
Background VocalsJohn Nevin
Background VocalsNadirah Ali
Background VocalsRob Mingrino
VocalsNia Peeples

6 The Entity (Sex)

BassMichael Norfleet
DrumsBernadette Cooper
PianoMichael Norfleet
SynclavierWinston Johnson
SynthesizerBernadette Cooper
SynthesizerMichael Norfleet
StringsMichael Norfleet
PercussionBernadette Cooper
Background VocalsCarmen Twillie
Background VocalsMaxine Anderson
Background VocalsPhyllis Yvonne Williams
VocalsNia Peeples

7 Heaven Help Me

Background VocalsHoward Hewett
Background VocalsKimaya Seward
VocalsNia Peeples

8 Every Word

GuitarPaul Jackson Jr
KeyboardsMonty Seward
OrganRobert Jason
Background VocalsHoward Hewett
Background VocalsTully Winfield
VocalsNia Peeples

9 King Of Cool

DrumsBret Mazur
GuitarDavey Johnstone
GuitarJames Wirrick
SynthesizerMark Isham
ProgrammingBret Mazur
VocalsNia Peeples

10 Shut Up & Fix It

VocalsNia Peeples

Liner Notes

Producer – Howard Hewett (Tracks 1, 8)
Producer – Carl Sturken, Evan Rogers (Tracks 2, 3, 5)
Producer – Rhett Lawrence (Track 4)
Producer – Bernadette Cooper (Track 6)
Producer – Andres Levin, Camus Celli (Track 7)
Producer – Wolf & Epic (Tracks 9, 10)
Arranged By – Bernadette Cooper, Michael Norfleet (Track 6)
Arranged By (Vocals) – Nia Peeples (Tracks 7, 10)
Project Coordinator – Susan Parker (Track 6)
Engineer – Cliff Jones, Jerry Jordan (Track 1)
Engineer – Darroll Gustamachio, Steve Heinke (Track 2)
Engineer – Steve Heinke (Tracks 3, 5)
Engineer – Gerry E Brown, Rick Caughron (Track 6)
Engineer – Bob Brown, Jim Bonzai Caruso (Track 7)
Engineer (Assistant) – Doug Michael (Track 2)
Engineer (Assistant) – Peggy McAffee (Track 3)
Engineer (Assistant) – Jack Curtis Dubowsky (Track 5)
Engineer (Assistant) – Aaron Miller, Foley Fall (Track 6)
Engineer (Assistant) – Ken Quartarone, Pat Pennington (Track 7)
Engineer (Assistant) – Danny Alonso (Tracks 9, 10)
Engineer (Mix) – Jared Held (Track 6)
Engineer (Mix) – Ken Kessie (Tracks 9, 10)
Engineer (Mix – Assistant) – Bill Malina (Track 6)
Engineer (Second) – Bob Tucker (Track 8)
Mixed By – John Potoker (Track 1)
Mixed By – Darroll Gustamachio (Tracks 2, 3, 5)
Mixed By – Paul McKenna (Track 4)
Mixed By – Bernadette Cooper, Jared Held (Track 6)
Mixed By – Steve Peck (Track 7)
Mixed By – Carmen Rizzo (Track 8)

Art Direction, Design – Ph.D
Photography By – Guzman

Phonographic Copyright (p) – Charisma Records America, Inc.
Copyright (c) – Charisma Records America, Inc.
Manufactured By – WEA
Distributed By – WEA
Manufactured By – Atlantic Records
Distributed By – Atlantic Records
Glass Mastered At – Nimbus, Virginia
Produced For – Lavika Music, Inc.
Produced For – Slap Me One! Productions
Produced For – C-n-A Productions
Produced For – Peace Productions
Recorded At – Johnny Yuma Recording
Recorded At – Studio 55, Los Angeles
Recorded At – The Loft Recording Studios
Recorded At – Studio 56
Recorded At – Oakshire Recorders
Recorded At – Skip Saylor Recording
Recorded At – Creative Source, Los Angeles
Recorded At – Svuga Svuga Studios
Recorded At – Unique Recording
Recorded At – Soundmasters, Los Angeles
Recorded At – Blue Palm Studios
Recorded At – Red Chamber Studios
Mixed At – Skip Saylor Recording
Mixed At – Chung King Studios
Mixed At – Studio 55, Los Angeles
Mixed At – Westlake Audio
Mixed At – Unique Recording
Mixed At – Record Plant, Los Angeles
Mixed At – Can-Am Recorders