1990 Toto – Past To Present 1977-1990

Past to Present 1977–1990 is the first compilation album by Toto, released in 1990. It contains nine hit songs from the band’s first seven albums, and four new songs recorded with singer Jean-Michel Byron.


1  Love Has The Power (Jean-Michel Byron, John Capek) 6:39
Africa (David Paich, Jeffrey Porcaro) 4:57
Hold The Line (David Paich) 3:55
4  Out Of Love (Jean-Michel Byron, Steve Lukather) 5:53
Georgy Porgy (David Paich) 4:07
I’ll Be Over You (Randy Goodrum, Steve Lukather) 3:51
Can You Hear What I’m Saying (David Paich, Jean-Michel Byron, Mike Porcaro) 5:01
Rosanna (David Paich) 5:33
I Won’t Hold You Back (Steve Lukather) 4:58
10  Stop Loving You (David Paich, Steve Lukather) 4:29
11  99 (David Paich) 5:12
12  Pamela (David Paich, Joseph Williams) 5:10
13  Animal (David Paich, Jean-Michel Byron) 5:01


Bass Mike Porcaro
Bass David Hungate
Drums Jeffrey Porcaro
Guitar Steve Lukather
Keyboards David Paich
Keyboards Steve Porcaro
Vocals Joseph Williams
Vocals Bobby Kimball
Vocals Jean Michel Byron
Musician Marty Paich
Musician James Newton Howard
Keyboards Bill Payne
Horns Greg Adams
Horns Lee Thornburg
Horns Stephen Kupka
Horns Tom Timko
Horns Emilio Castillo
Horns Larry Williams
Sax Tom Scott
Trumpet Jerry Hey
Trumpet Chuck Findley
Trumpet Gary Grant
Trombone James Pankow
Percussion Joe Porcaro
Percussion Lenny Castro
Percussion Mike Fisher
Percussion Luis Conte
Background Vocals Michael McDonald
Background Vocals Jon Anderson
Background Vocals Tom Kelly
Background Vocals Timothy B. Schmit
Background Vocals Cheryl Lynn
Background Vocals Susan Boyd
Background Vocals Alfie Silas
Background Vocals Alex Brown
Background Vocals Lynn Davis
Background Vocals Carmen Twillie
Background Vocals Maxine Willard Waters
Background Vocals Debbie Hall
Background Vocals Phyllis St. James
Background Vocals John Bahler
Background Vocals Gene Morford
Background Vocals Kevin Dorsey
Background Vocals Willie Green
Background Vocals Phillip Ingram
Background Vocals Oren Waters
Background Vocals Luther Waters
Background Vocals Darryl Phinnessee

Liner Notes

Producer – James Guthrie, Toto (Tracks 1, 4, 7, 13)
Arranged By (Choir) – John Bahler (Track 4)
Directed By (Choir) – John Bahler (Track 4)
Arranged By (Horns) – Greg Adams (Track 13)
Mastered By – Doug Sax
Mixed By – James Guthrie (Tracks 1, 4, 7, 13)
Mixed By (Assistant) – Ken Allardyce, Michael Reiter (Tracks 1, 4, 7, 13)
Recorded By (Assistant) – Ken Allardyce, Michael Reiter (Tracks 1, 4, 7, 13)
Recorded By – James Guthrie (Tracks 1, 4, 7, 13)

Illustration – Mark Ryden

*For more liner notes, check out the albums separately.