1979 Night – Night

Night 1979Night was a rock band formed in 1978 in Los Angeles whose personnel were veteran British-based session musicians.

Night’s vocalists Stevie Vann (aka Stevie Lange) and Chris Thompson had met when Vann had provided backing vocals for the 1978 album Watch by Manfred Mann’s Earth Band then fronted by Thompson. Soon afterwards Thompson invited Vann to join him in a new outfit, Vann’s session group known as Bones having recently disbanded and Thompson having reduced his involvement with Manfred Mann’s Earth Band.

Richard Perry produced two albums by Night for his Planet label; the group’s eponymous 1979 debut album yielded two US Top 40 hits: “Hot Summer Nights” (#18) and “If You Remember Me” (#17).

“Hot Summer Nights”, a cover of a minor Walter Egan hit, featured Lange on lead vocals and gave Night their one international hit most significantly in Australia at No. 3 with more moderate success in Canada (#23), the Netherlands (#21), New Zealand (#28) and South Africa (#13).

“If You Remember Me”, recorded as the theme song for the film The Champ, was introduced the Night album but in its single release credited solely to Chris Thompson with another album track “Cold Wind Across My Heart” – featuring both Thompson and Vann – being marketed as the second Night single; the latter track failed to chart and the Night album peaked at a moderate No. 113, the group’s gig opening for the Doobie Brothers failing to significantly boost their popularity.

A second album release by Night in 1980 entitled Long Distance produced a minor hit in its single release: “Love on the Airwaves”, and was otherwise overlooked. Night had no further recordings released but did not officially disband until 1982.

Night can be seen in the 1980 film The Monster Club performing “The Stripper”.


Hot Summer Nights (Walter Egan) 3:23
2  Cold Wind Across My Heart (Tom Snow) 4:02
3  If You Gotta Make A Fool Of Somebody (Rudy Clark) 3:59
4  Ain\’t That Peculiar (Marvin Tarpline, Robert Rogers, Warren Moore, William Robinson Jr) 4:36
5  If You Remember Me (Carole Bayer Sager, Marvin Hamlisch) 2:54
6  Come Around (If You Want Me) (Chris Thompson) 3:04
7  You Ain\’t Pretty Enough (Allee Willis, Bill Kristian, Chris Thompson) 4:27
8  Shocked (Gregg Sutton, Ira Ingber) 3:36
9  Love Message (Bugsy Maugh, Chris Thompson, Stevie Lange) 3:54
10  Party Shuffle (Bill Kristian, Chris Thompson, Robbie McIntosh) 4:09


BassBilly Kristian
DrumsRick Marotta
GuitarChris Thompson
GuitarRobbie McIntosh
PianoNicky Hopkins
VocalsChris Thompson
VocalsStevie Lange

Other Musicians

1 Hot Summer Nights

SynthesizerSteve Porcaro

2 Cold Wind Across My Heart

SynthesizerBill Payne
SynthesizerSteve Porcaro


3 If You Gotta Make A Fool Of Somebody

SynthesizerBill Payne

4 Ain\’t That Peculiar

OrganBill Payne
PianoMichael McDonald
PercussionBob LaKind

5 If You Remember Me

BassBob Glaub
DrumsRick Shlosser

7 You Ain\’t Pretty Enough

BassLouis Johnson
PianoBill Payne
PianoMichael McDonald
SynthesizerSteve Porcaro
SynthesizerDerek Austin
ClavinetDerek Austin
PercussionBob LaKind

8 Shocked

OrganVince Melamed

9 Love Message

OrganVince Melamed

10 Party Shuffle

OrganVince Melamed

Liner Notes

Producer – Richard Perry
Arranged By – Night, Richard Perry
Coordinator (Production Coordination) – Kathleen Nelson, Michael Solomon
Coordinator (Song Coordination) – Kathleen Carey, Michael Barackman
Engineer (Additional) – Tom Knox
Engineer (Assistant, Additional) – Gabe Veltri
Engineer (Re-mix) – Bill Schnee
Engineer (Recording) – Dennis Kirk
Mastered By – Doug Sax

Artwork By (Design, Art Direction) – John Kosh
Photography – James M. Shea

Phonographic Copyright (p) – Planet Records
Copyright (c) – Planet Records
Recorded At – Studio 55, Los Angeles
Mixed At – Studio 55, Los Angeles
Mastered At – The Mastering Lab
Pressed By – Monarch Record Mfg. Co.
Distributed By – Elektra/Asylum Records
Distributed By – Elektra/Asylum/Nonesuch Records