1977 Shaun Cassidy – Born Late

Born Late is the second studio album released by pop singer, Shaun Cassidy. The album was released in 1977 following the success of Cassidy’s self-titled debut album.

The album yielded two hit singles. The first, “Hey Deanie”, was written by Eric Carmen, who also wrote the song “That’s Rock ‘n’ Roll” (which was a hit from Cassidy’s first solo album). “Hey Deanie” reached #7 in early 1978. For the second single, also following the formula of his first album, Cassidy remade a 1960s hit, in this case The Lovin’ Spoonful’s “Do You Believe in Magic?” (which was written by John Sebastian). That single became a modest hit, peaking at #31 on the US Billboard Hot 100.

Unlike his first album, Cassidy wrote or co-wrote half of the songs. The track “It’s Up To You” was co-written with Cassidy by Lost In Space child-star Billy Mumy.

Shaun Paul Cassidy (born September 27, 1958) is an American television producer/creator, screenwriter, and former actor and singer. He is the eldest son of Academy Award-winning singer-actress Shirley Jones and Tony Award-winning singer-actor Jack Cassidy. His older half-brother is singer/actor David Cassidy.


1  Teen Dream (Shaun Cassidy) 2:36
2  Do You Believe In Magic (John Sebastian) 2:18
3  Baby Baby Baby (Jay Gruska, Diana Leineke) 3:44
4  It’s Up To You (Shaun Cassidy, David Joliffe, Bill Mumy) 2:26
5  Audrey (Shaun Cassidy, David Joliffe) 4:22
6  Hey Deanie (Eric Carmen) 3:35
7  A Girl Like You (Felix Cavaliere, Eddie Brigati) 2:55
8  Walk Away (Shaun Cassidy) 3:13
9  Carolina’s Coming Home (Roger Cook, Roger Greenaway, John Goodison, Tony Hiller) 2:26
10  Strange Sensation (Shaun Cassidy) 3:52



BassMike Porcaro
BassDee Murray
DrumsRick Shlosser
DrumsCarlos Vega
GuitarJay Graydon
GuitarMitch Holder
GuitarMichael Lloyd
KeyboardsGreg Mathieson
KeyboardsJay Gruska
KeyboardsShaun Cassidy
SaxJohn D’Andrea
HornJohn Rosenberg
Background VocalsTom Bahler
Background VocalsJim Haas
Background VocalsRon Hicklin
Background VocalsMichele Gruska
Background VocalsGene Morford
Background VocalsJon Joyce
Background VocalsMichael Lloyd

Liner Notes

Producer, Remix, Guitar – Michael Lloyd
Arranged By – John D’Andrea
Engineer, Remix – Humberto Gatica

Art Direction – John Cabalka
Design – Brad Kanawyer
Photography By (Cover) – Tony Costa
Typography (Cover Lettering) – Bill Naegels
Typography (Lettering) – Bill Naegels

Produced For – Mike Curb Productions
Copyright (c) – Warner Bros. Records Inc.
Phonographic Copyright (p) – Warner Bros. Records Inc.
Mastered At – Artisan Sound Recorders
Pressed By – Capitol Records Pressing Plant, Winchester