1976 Gary Wright – Light Of Smiles

The Light Of Smiles is Gary Wright‘s  fourth studio album as a solo artist, it appeared in 1977. Gary Wright continued the music of his previous album The dream weaver, but exposes more the meetings with the Indian culture. Titles like The light of smiles, Who am I ?, Empty inside and Child of light are directly or indirectly attributable to his acquaintance with the ideas of Paramahansa Yogananda (metaphysical meditations).


1  Water Sign (Gary Wright) 4:32
2  Time Machine (Gary Wright) 3:38
3  I Am The Sky (Gary Wright, Paramahansa Yogananda) 0:40
4  Who Am I (Gary Wright) 3:16
5  Silent Fury (Gary Wright) 4:23
Phantom Writer (Gary Wright) 3:34
7  The Light Of Smiles (Gary Wright) 3:26
8  I’m Alright (Gary Wright) 3:35
9  Empty Inside (Gary Wright) 3:29
10  Are You Weepin’ (Gary Wright) 4:00
11  Child Of Light (Gary Wright) 4:56


DrumsArt Wood
DrumsJim Keltner
MoogSteve Porcaro
PianoPeter Reilich
PianoDavid Foster
SynthesizerDavid Foster
SynthesizerGary Wright
SynthesizerSteve Porcaro
SynthesizerPeter Reilich
SynthesizerGary Mielke
SynthesizerJay Graydon
Background VocalsDavid Pomeranz
Background VocalsJustin Wright
Background VocalsBetty Sweet

Other Musicians

5 Silent Fury

Moog BassSteve Porcaro


Liner Notes

Producer – Gary Wright
Producer (Associate) – Jay Lewis
Arranged By (Strings) – Peter Reilich (Tracks 6, 11)
Engineer (Associate) – Jay Lewis

Art Direction – Robert Lockart
Design, Text By (Hand Lettering), Illustration (Background) – Cabalka Studio
Painting – John Silletto
Photography By – Anthony Loew

Phonographic Copyright (p) – Warner Bros. Records Inc.
Copyright (c) – Warner Bros. Records Inc.
Copyright (c) – High Wave Music, Inc.
Copyright (c) – Self-Realization Fellowship
Recorded At – Sound Labs, Hollywood
Mixed At – Sound Labs, Hollywood
Overdubbed At – United Western Studios
Mastered At – The Mastering Lab
Pressed By – Columbia Records Pressing Plant, Pitman