1989 Curiosity Killed The Cat – Getahead

Curiosity Killed the Cat were a British pop band that achieved success in the UK in the late 1980s and early 1990s.

The band played soulful, jazzy and funky pop music  and was initially signed to Phonogram Records’ Mercury imprint. They first came to notice of the UK music press when they worked with Andy Warhol for the video of their 1986 single “Misfit”. This featured the band in New York and at one point featured frontman Ben Volpeliere-Pierrot dancing down a side street whilst Andy Warhol referenced Bob Dylan’s 1965 long-form promotional film for “Subterranean Homesick Blues” by dropping pieces of white card in time to the music (the Dylan film clip and its concepts have since been popularly imitated by a number of other artists, including INXS in their video for “Mediate” in 1988).

The single was initially unsuccessful but the release of their next single, “Down To Earth”, gave the band a Top 3 hit in early 1987. The band’s first album, Keep Your Distance, entered the UK Albums Chart at number one in April 1987, and stayed in the Top Ten for 13 weeks. Further singles included “Ordinary Day” (UK #11) and a re-release of “Misfit” (UK #7). “Misfit” was also their only U.S. chart single, peaking at number 42.

The band’s second album, Getahead, was released in 1989, led by the single “Name and Number” (UK #14), and its “Hey How You Doin'” refrain would find itself in the Top Ten two years later as part of the De La Soul song “Ring Ring Ring (Ha Ha Hey)”. The album, however, was not a success in comparison to their first album and peaked at #29.

After the lacklustre performance of Getahead and its second single “First Place”, the band shortened their name to “Curiosity” but found themselves dropped from Mercury Records. Bass player Nick Thorp left the band. However, in 1992, the band (now a three-piece and signed to RCA Records) returned to the UK Top 3 with a cover of Johnny Bristol’s “Hang on in There Baby”.[1] Despite this, the band’s follow up single (covers of “I Need Your Lovin'” and “Gimme the Sunshine”) flopped, which resulted in the album Back to Front only being released in Japan and selected overseas markets. The band then split up.

In the 2000s, the band reformed for an appearance on a National Lottery midweek show on BBC 1, and since then Volpeliere has toured under the name Curiosity Killed the Cat, on a number of 1980s revival packages.


1 Name And Number 4:00
2 Do Your Believin’ 4:16
3 Cascade 3:54
4 First Place 4:28
5 We Just Gotta Do It (For Us) 4:15
6 Go Go Ahead 2:25
7 Trees Don’t Grow On Money 4:07
8 Treat You So Well 4:15
9 Who Are You 3:50
10 Security Lady 4:10
11 Something New, Something Blue 3:54
12 Keep On Trying 4:57


Bass Nick Thorp
Drums Migi Drummond
Guitar Julian Godfrey Brookhouse
Vocals Ben Volpeliere-Pierrot

Other Musicians:

3 Cascade

Drums Jeffrey Porcaro

7 Trees Don’t Grow On Money

Drums Jeffrey Porcaro

9 Who Are You

Drums Jeffrey Porcaro
1989 Curiosity Killed The Cat