1975 5th Dimension – Earthbound

Earthbound is the twelfth album by American pop group The 5th Dimension, released in 1975 by ABC Records. It is the last album in the group’s original line up with Billy Davis, Jr., Marilyn McCoo, Florence La Rue Gordon, Lamonte McLemore and Ron Townson. After touring with the 5th Dimension in support of this album, Billy Davis, Jr. and Marilyn McCoo (being married since 1969) left the group to work as duo and solo artists.

In contrast to most of their prior albums, Earthbound features synthesizers prominently in many of its tracks—particularly “Magic In My Life” and “Moonlight Mile.” “Magic in My Life,” the second and final single released from the album (“Walk You Feet in the Sunshine” was the first), a fan favorite, was also unusual in that it was the first 5th Dimension single to feature Florence LaRue on the lead (she would frequently be the lead on successive 5th Dimension singles with various lineups).

While this album was not commercially successful, it remains a cult favorite among many 5th Dimension fans who consider it among their best work. Other fans take a dim view of it. Perhaps owing to its singular status as an ABC Records product, for decades the album remained the only one from the original 5th Dimension lineup not re-released on CD. However in 2014 it was announced that it would be available beginning in June, 2014, though Real Gone Music.


1  Earthbound Prologue – Be Here Now (Jimmy Webb, George Harrison) 3:53
2  Don’t Stop For Nothing (James C Johnson) 2:40
3  I’ve Got A Feeling (John Lennon, Paul McCartney) 4:13
4  Magic In My Life (James C Johnson) 3:02
5  Walk Your Feet In The Sunshine (Jimmy Webb) 4:11
6  When Did I Lose Your Love (Jimmy Webb) 2:49
7  Lean On Me Always (Jimmy Webb) 4:25
8  Speaking With My Heart (Jimmy Webb) 3:39
9  Moonlight Mile (Mick Jagger, Keith Richards) 4:55
10  Earthbound Epilogue (Jimmy Webb) 2:28



BassPaul Stallworth
DrumsHarvey Mason Sr
GuitarDan Ferguson
GuitarDennis Budimir
GuitarFred Tackett
GuitarJesse Ed Davis
Acoustic GuitarLarry Coryell
KeyboardsJohn Myles
HornDave Duke
HornVince DeRosa
StringsSidney Sharp
PercussionHarvey Mason

Other Musicians

5 Magic In My Life

KeyboardsDavid Paich

9 Moonlight Mile

DrumsJeffrey Porcaro

Liner Notes

Producer – Jimmy Webb
Arranged By – Jimmy Webb
Arranged By (Vocals) – John Myles
Engineer – John Haeny
Engineer (assistant) – Brian Ingalls, Gary Webb, Howard Weiss
Engineer (Vocals, Strings & Mixing) – Alan O’Duffy

Cover (Painting) – Carole Rubinstein

Recorded At – Sunset Sound
Recorded At – The Village Recorder
Mixed At – Wally Heider Studios
Mastered At – ABC Recording Studios
Phonographic Copyright (p) – ABC Records, Inc.
Copyright (c) – ABC Records, Inc.