1981 Four Tops – Tonight

Tonight is an album by The Four Tops, released in 1981.

The Four Tops are an American vocal quartet from Detroit, Michigan who helped to define the city’s Motown sound of the 1960s. The group’s repertoire has included soul music, R&B, disco, adult contemporary, doo-wop, jazz, and show tunes.


1   When She Was My Girl (Larry Gottlieb, Marc Blatte) 3:20
Don’t Walk Away (Jerry Knight) 4:10
3  Tonight I’m Gonna Love You All Over (Michael Williams, Rick Ferguson) 4:34
4  Who’s Right, Who’s Wrong (Kenny Loggins, Richard Page) 5:16
5  Let Me Set You Free (David Wolfert, Sandy Linzer) 4:24
6  From A Distance (Henry Gaffney) 4:04
7  Something To Remember (David Wolfert, Sandy Linzer) 4:52
8  All I Do (Clarence Paul, Morris Broadnax, Stevie Wonder) 3:42
9  I’ll Never Ever Leave Again (Bill Allen, Earl Klugh, Fred Bridges, George Martin, Lawrence Payton) 4:09


Bass Nathan East
Bass Neil Stubenhaus
Bass Ron Carter
Drums Jeffrey Porcaro
Guitar Carlos Rios
Guitar David Williams
Piano Bill Meyers
Synthesizer David Wolfert
Synthesizer Ed Walsh
Flugelhorn Joe Shepley
Flugelhorn Lew Soloff
Flute George Marge
Flute Seldon Powell
Oboe George Marge
Sax Tom Saviano
Vibraphone David Friedman
Percussion Crusher Bennett
Percussion Richard Crooks

Other Musicians

1 When She Was My Girl

Synthesizer Ralph Schuckett

6 From A Distance

Bass Henry Davis

7 Something To Remember

Piano Greg Mathieson
Synthesizer Ralph Schuckett

8 All I Do

Bass Neil  Jason
Synthesizer Kashif

9 I’ll Never Ever Leave Again

Acoustic Guitar Greg Poree
Synthesizer Ralph Schuckett

Liner Notes

Producer – David Wolfert
Producer (Executive) – Charles Koppelman
Arranged By (Rhythm) – Bill Meyers
Arranged By (Rhythm) – David Wolfert (Tracks 5, 7)
Arranged By (Rhythm) – Greg Mathieson (Track 8)
Arranged By (Vocals) – Lawrence Payton
Concertmaster – Elliott Rosoff
Contractor – Frank DeCaro, Phil Medley
Coordinator (Production) – Linda Gerrity
Engineer – Al Schmitt, Dennis Ferrante
Engineer (Assistant) – Brad Gilderman, Larold Rebhun

Artwork (Cover Art) – Montxo Algora
Design – Robert Heimall
Photography – Gregory Heisler

Recorded At Cherokee Studios
Recorded At RCA Recording Studios
Phonographic Copyright PolyGram Records Inc
Copyright PolyGram Records Inc