1985 Stealin Horses – Stealin Horses

Stealin Horses grew out of Kiya’s college band Radio Cafe. Castle Records in Franklin, TN signed Kiya and drummer Kopana Terry as Stealin Horses and then sold the band to Arista during a folk-signing craze and bidding war with 17 other labels.The band was signed to Arista at the first SXSW music festival in 1987 in Austin, TX. Stealin Horses released their self-titled debut CD in 1988 on Arista Records.The CD featured outstanding California session musicians such as Russ Kunkel and Toto. The CD even has an appearance by Neil Young. The single, Turnaround, topped #32 on the AOR charts with medium play rotation on MTV. Stealin Horses toured the US and Canada playing with acts including Level 42, Wang Chung, James Brown, Rank and File, The Smithereens and The Stray Cats, culminating with a 1990 performance at Farm Aid IV. The group re-formed to tour as a five-piece in Oklahoma after being dropped from Arista in 1991. Stealin Horses played at SXSW for a second time and then signed to Mississippi label, Waldoxy/Malaco. The band released, Mesa and Mandolins in 1991. They toured constantly for two years and disbanded in 1993. Kiya released a solo album called True Frontiers, in 1993, for Malaco, which garnered a #1 on the Indie Americana charts with Home. A new Stealin Horses project is in the works. Stealin Horses is celebrating it’s 27th anniversary this year. (Source)


1  Turnaround (Kiya Heartwoord, Jai Winding) 3:48
2  Where All the Rivers Run (Kiya Heartwoord) 3:28
3  Rain (Kiya Heartwoord, Jai Winding) 3:50
4  Harriet Tubman (Kiya Heartwoord) 3:14
5  Walk Away (Kiya Heartwoord, Jai Winding) 4:32
6  The Well (Kiya Heartwoord) 5:02
7  Gotta Get a Letter (Kiya Heartwoord) 3:49
8  Dyin\’ by the Gun (Kiya Heartwoord) 2:43
9  Tangled (Kiya Heartwoord, Kopana Terry) 3:57
10  Ballad of the Pralltown Cafe (Kiya Heartwoord, Sam Gillespie) 3:59



BassJohn Durno
DrumsKopana Terry
GuitarMandy Meyer
Acoustic GuitarKiya Heartwood
VocalsKiya Heartwood
BassMike Porcaro
BassLeland Sklar
DrumsRuss Kunkel
DrumsJR Robinson
GuitarSteve Lukather
GuitarDanny Kortchmar
GuitarWaddy Wachtel
GuitarPete Anderson
KeyboardsJai Winding
HarmonicaNeil Young

Liner Notes

Producer – Greg Ladanyi
Producer – Jozef Nuyens (Tracks 10)
Producer (Assocciated) – Jozef Nuyens, Winny Nuyens (Tracks 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9)
Co-producer – Waddy Wachtel (Tracks 1, 2, 5)
Arranged By – Jai Winding, Kiya Heartwood
Mastered By – Doug Sax, Mike Reese
Mixer – Greg Ladanyi
Recorded By – Greg Ladanyi, Shep Lonsdale (Tracks 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9)
Recorded By – Mark Richardson (Track 10)
Recorded By (Assistant) – Duane Seykora, Sharon Rice, Paul Dieter (Tracks 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9)

Art Direction – Maude Gilman
Design – Susan Mendola

Record Company – Bertelsmann Music Group
Manufactured By – Arista Records, Inc.
Produced For – Castle Productions, Inc.
Phonographic Copyright (p) – Arista Records, Inc.
Copyright (c) – Arista Records, Inc.
Copyright (c) – Five Towers Music
Pressed By – Hauppauge Record Manufacturing Ltd.
Recorded At – The Complex
Recorded At – The Castle Recording Studios
Mixed At – The Complex
Mastered At – The Mastering Lab