1985 Kenny Loggins – Vox Humana

Vox Humana is the fifth solo album released by soft rock singer Kenny Loggins. Released in 1985, it was Loggins’ first album released after his involvement with the hit soundtrack to the motion picture Footloose, the year prior. The title is from a Latin phrase meaning “human voice.” Among those who make cameo appearances are members of DeBarge, The Pointer Sisters, Philip Bailey, Mr. Mister’s Richard Page, Steve George and other artists.


Vox Humana(Kenny Loggins, Anita Pointer, June Pointer) 4:11
2  No Lookin’Back (Kenny Loggins, Michael McDonald, Ed Sanford) 4:51
3  Let There Be Love (Kenny Loggins, Dean Pitchford) 4:07
I’ll Be There(Kenny Loggins, Nathan East, David Foster) 4:03
5  I’m Gonna Do It Right (Kenny Loggins) 6:27
Forever(Kenny Loggins, David Foster, Eva Ein) 4:26
7  At Last (Kenny Loggins, Eva Ein, David Foster, Nathan East) 3:54
8  Loraine (Kenny Loggins, David Foster) 4:31
9  Love Will Follow (Kenny Loggins, Tom Snow) 7:13


1 Vox Humana

BassNathan East
Guitar (solo)Kenny Loggins
Acoustic GuitarKenny Loggins
SynthesizerSteve Wood

2 No Lookin’ Back

KeyboardsMichael Omartian
SynthesizerMichael Omartian
Guitar (solo)Tim Pierce
GuitarMike Landau

3 Let There Be Love

BassNathan East
DrumsTris Imboden
GuitarMike Landau
KeyboardsSteve Woods
KeyboardsRandy Kerber
SynthesizerSteve Wood
Background VocalsRichard Page
Background VocalsSteve George
Background VocalsHamish Stuart
Background VocalsGuy Thomas
Background VocalsDonna McDaniels
Background VocalsNeil Larsen
Background VocalsMarilyn Martin

4 I’ll Be There

DrumsJR Robinson
GuitarMike Landau
KeyboardsMichael Boddicker
KeyboardsDavid Foster
PercussionPaulinho Da Costa

5 I’m Gonna Do It Right

BassNathan East
GuitarPaul Jackson
KeyboardsSteve Wood
KeyboardsRandy Kerber
SynthesizerMichael Boddicker
SynthesizerNeil Larsen
PercussionSheila Escovedo
Background VocalsPointer Sisters

6 Forever

BassNathan East
DrumsTris Imboden
Guitar (solo)Steve Lukather
GuitarBuzz Feiten
KeyboardsDavid Foster
KeyboardsSteve Winwood

7 At Last

BassNathan East
KeyboardsSteve Wood
KeyboardsRandy Kerber
KeyboardsNeil Larsen
KeyboardsKenny Loggins
KeyboardsGreg Phillinganes
PianoRandy Waldman
Background VocalsPhillip Bailey
Background VocalsCarl Anderson
Background VocalsCarl Carlwell

8 Loraine

BassAbraham Laboriel Sr
DrumsTris Imboden
GuitarMike Landau
KeyboardsDavid Foster
SynthesizerSteve Porcaro

9 Love Will Follow

BassNathan East
GuitarDavid Williams
GuitarMike Landau
SynthesizerGreg Phillinganes
SaxDavid Sanborn
Background VocalsDonna McDaniels
Background VocalsMarilyn Martin

Liner Notes

Producer – Kenny Loggins
Producer – Michael Omartian (Track 2)
Producer – David Foster (Track 6)
Coordinator (Production) – Arlene Matza
Engineer (1st) – Bobby Cohen, Ed Rak, Elliot Scheiner, Humberto Gatica, Jack Joseph Puig, John Guess, Mark Ettel, Mark Lynette, Terry Christian, Terry Nelson
Engineer (2nd) – Cliff Jones, Larry Ferguson, Laura Livingston, Stephen Shelton, Steve Crimmel
Engineer (2nd), Coordinator (Production) – David Warren Bowers
Engineer (Assitant) – Sabrina Buchanek (Track 5)
Engineer (Mix) – Michael Hutchinson (Track 5)
Mastered By – George Marino
Mixed By – Terry Nelson (Tracks 1, 7)
Mixed By – John Guess (Track 2)
Mixed By – Humberto Gatica (Tracks 3, 4, 6, 8, 9)
Mixed By – John Benitez (Track 5)
Mixed By (Assistant) – David Warren Bowers, Stephen Shelton (Tracks 3, 4, 6, 8, 9)
Technician (Mix) – Murray Kunis

Art Direction – Lane/Donald
Artwork (Cover) – Michael Gonzales
Photography By (Back Cover) – Greg Gorman
Photography By (Inner Sleeve) – Daryl Weisser, Harrison Funk, Lester Cohen, Sam Emerson

Manufactured By – Columbia Records
Phonographic Copyright (p) – CBS Inc.
Copyright (c) – CBS Inc.
Pressed By – DADC – DIDP-020222
Recorded At – Lion Share Recording Studios
Recorded At – The Lighthouse
Recorded At – Santa Barbara Sound Recording
Recorded At – Ocean Way Recording
Recorded At – Record Plant, Los Angeles
Recorded At – Sunset Sound
Recorded At – Bill Schnee Studios
Recorded At – The Village Recorder
Recorded At – Amigo Studios
Recorded At – Devonshire Studios
Recorded At – Clinton Recording Studio
Recorded At – The Hit Factory
Recorded At – Gateway Studios, Carpinteria, CA
Recorded At – Power Station
Recorded At – Larrabee Sound Studios
Mastered At – Sterling Sound
Mixed At – Sunset Sound
Mixed At – Lion Share Recording Studios
Mixed At – Larrabee Sound Studios