1984 The Jacksons – Victory

Victory is the seventeenth studio album by The Jacksons. It was released on July 2, 1984 by Epic Records. The album was the first and only album to include all six Jackson brothers together as an official group; also, it was the last album entirely recorded with lead singer Michael Jackson. The album sold over seven million copies worldwide, opening at number four on the US Billboard 200, selling 185,000 copies in first week sales. On July 17, 1984, the album was certified Gold by the BPI for the sales of at least 100.000 copies in the United Kingdom. On October 30, 1984, the album was certified 2× Platinum by RIAA for the sales of over 2 million copies in the United States.

Victory was supported by the Victory Tour, with lead singer Michael Jackson, who had recently released the world’s all-time best-selling album, Thriller, prominently featured. Shortly after the tour ended, Michael and Marlon Jackson quit the group. Jermaine, Tito, Randy and Jackie Jackson continued on as the Jacksons, and releasing one more album, 1989’s 2300 Jackson Street (whose title track did feature all six Jackson brothers, along with their sisters Janet and Rebbie) before splitting up.


Torture (Jackie Jackson, Kathy Wakefield) 4:54
2  Wait (Jackie Jackson, David Paich) 5:25
3  One More Chance (Randy Jackson) 5:06
4  Be Not Always (Michael Jackson) 5:36
State of Shock (Michael Jackson, Randy Hansen) 4:30
6  We Can Change the World (Tito Jackson, Wayne Arnold) 4:45
7  The Hurt (Michael Jackson, Randy Jackson, David Paich, Steve Porcaro) 5:27
8  Body (Marlon Jackson) 5:06

The Jacksons

Michael Jackson
Randy Jackson
Tito Jackson
Jackie Jackson
Marlon Jackson

Other Musicians

1 Torture

Drums Jeffrey Porcaro
Guitar (solo) Jack Wargo
Keyboards Randy Jackson
Synthesizer Randy Jackson
Synthesizer Michael Boddicker
Trumpet Jerry Hey
Percussion Randy Jackson

2 Wait

Drums Jeffrey Porcaro
Guitar Steve Lukather
Keyboards David Paich
Keyboards Steve Porcaro
Synthesizer David Paich
Synthesizer Steve Porcaro
Percussion Lenny Castro

3 One More Chance

Drums (programming) Randy Jackson
Keyboards Randy Jackson
Synthesizer Randy Jackson
Keyboards John Barnes
Percussion Paulinho Da Costa

4 Be Not Always

Acoustic Guitar Greg Poree
Harp Gayle Levant

5 State of Shock

Drums (programming) Tito Jackson
Bass David Williams
Guitar David Williams
Guitar Tito Jackson
Keyboards John Barnes
Keyboards Tito Jackson
Percussion Lenny Castro

6 We Can Change the World

Keyboards Randy Jackson
Keyboards David Paich
Keyboards Steve Porcaro
Synthesizer Randy Jackson
Synthesizer David Paich
Synthesizer Steve Porcaro

7 The Hurt

Drums Jonathan Moffett
Guitar David Williams
Guitar (solo) Gary Wright
Keyboards John Barnes
Synthesizer David Ervin

8 Body

Bass (synthesizer) John Barnes
Drums James Gadson
Guitar John Rowin
Guitar Tony Drake
Guitar Louis Russell
Guitar Ray Obiedo
Keyboards John Barnes
Keyboards Ernest Straughter
Keyboards Michael Stanton
Percussion Sheila Escovedo

Liner Notes

Producer – David Paich, Jackie Jackson, Steve Porcaro (Track 2)
Producer – Randy Jackson (Track 3)
Producer – Michael Jackson (Tracks 4, 5)
Producer – Tito Jackson (Track 6)
Producer – David Paich, Steve Porcaro, The Jacksons (Track 7)
Producer – Marlon Jackson (Track 8)
Arranged By – David Paich, Jackie Jackson (Track 2)
Arranged By – Randy Jackson (Track 3)
Arranged By – Michael Jackson (Tracks 4, 5)
Arranged By – Tito Jackson (Track 6)
Arranged By – David Paich, Michael Jackson, Randy Jackson, Steve Porcaro (Track 7)
Arranged By – John Barnes, Marlon Jackson (Track 8)
Arranged By (Horns) – Jackie Jackson, Jerry Hey (Track 1)
Arranged By (Music) – Jackie Jackson (Track 1)
Arranged By (Strings) – Jerry Hey (Tracks 4)
Concertmaster – Murray Adler (Track 4)
Engineer – Billy Bottrell (Tracks 1, 6, 7, 8)
Engineer – Tom Knox (Tracks 2, 7)
Engineer – Bruce Swedien (Tracks 4, 5)
Engineer – Tito Jackson (Track 6)
Engineer (Assistant) – Bino Espinoza, Mitch Gibson, Paul Ericksen (Tracks 1, 3, 6, 8)
Engineer (Assistant) – Niko Bolas, Shep Lonsdale, Stuart Furusho, Terry Stewart (Track 2)
Engineer (Assistant) – Matt Forger, Ollie Cotton (Track 5)
Engineer (Assistant) – Ann Calnan, Bino Espinoza, Brian Malouf, Paul Ericksen, Shep Longsdale (Track 7)
Engineer (16 Track) – Brent Averill (Track 5)
Mixed By – Billy Bottrell (Tracks 1, 6, 7, 8)
Mixed By – Greg Ladanyi, Niko Bolas (Track 2)
Mixed By – Bruce Swedien (Tracks 4, 5)
Technician (Additional Recordings) – Allen Sides, Ann Calnan, Brent Averill, Brian Malouf, Jermany Smith, Michael Shulman, Robin Laine

Painting – Michael Whelan
Photography By – Matthew Rolston

Phonographic Copyright (p) – CBS Inc.
Copyright (c) – CBS Inc.
Recorded At – A&R Studios
Recorded At – Can-Am Recorders
Recorded At – Evergreen Studios
Recorded At – Hog Manor
Recorded At – Image Recorders
Recorded At – Ponderosa Studios
Recorded At – Record One, Los Angeles
Recorded At – Soundcastle
Recorded At – Sunset Sound
Recorded At – The Villa
Recorded At – Westlake Audio
Recorded At – Bill Schnee Studios
Recorded At – Hollywood Sound Recorders
Recorded At – Ocean Way Recording
Recorded At – The Village Recorder
Mixed At – Record One, Los Angeles
Mixed At – Soundcastle
Mixed At – Westlake Audio