1983 The Tubes – Outside Inside

Outside Inside is a 1983 release on Capitol Records by The Tubes. The album was produced by David Foster. The Tubes had their biggest radio hit with the single “She’s a Beauty” (flipside of single was non-album track “When You’re Ready to Come”).

Martha Davis from The Motels appears as a guest vocalist on “The Monkey Time.” Martha Davis’ vocal performance on “The Monkey Time” was replaced by Michele Gray on the Capitol CD reissue of Outside Inside. Gray was one of The Tubes principal dancers from 1983–1985, and later married the long-term Tubes collaborator Todd Rundgren.


She’s a Beauty (David Foster, Fee Waybill, Steve Lukather) 4:00
2  No Not Again (The Tubes) 3:28
3  Out Of The Business (The Tubes) 3:29
The Monkey Time (Curtis Mayfield, The Tubes) 3:44
5  Glass House (The Tubes) 3:29
6  Wild Women Of Wongo (The Tubes) 3:55
Tip Of My Tongue (Maurice White, Michael Snyder) 3:58
8  Fantastic Delusion (The Tubes) 3:55
9  Drums (The Tubes) 2:20
10  Theme Park (The Tubes) 3:13
11 Outside Lookin’ Inside (The Tubes) 0:55


BassRick Anderson
DrumsPrairie Prince
GuitarBill Spooner
GuitarRoger Steen
KeyboardsVince Welnick
SynthesizerMichael Cotten
VocalsFee Waybill

Other Musicians

BassNathan East
BassDavid Williams
GuitarSteve Lukather
GuitarFred Washington
KeyboardsDavid Paich
KeyboardsSteve Porcaro
KeyboardsDavid Foster
KeyboardsJames Newton-Howard
TrumpetChuck Findley
TrumpetGary Grant
SaxGary Herbig
TrumpetJerry Hey
TromboneBill Reichenbach
HornLarry Williams
Background VocalsPatti Austin
Background VocalsBobby Kimball
Background VocalsBill Champlin
Background VocalsMaurice White

Liner Notes

Producer – David Foster
Engineer (Additional) – David Cole, Jack Leahy, Jeff Borgeson, Ken Kessie, Stacy Baird
Engineer (Assistant) – Barbara Rooney, Bob Bullock, Gene Wooley, Howard Johnston, Jeff Kliment, Larry Ferguson, Marnie Moore, Niko Bolas, Roberto Spano, Steve Schmidt, Tom Fouce, Wayne Tanouye
Engineer (Recording) – Dennis Kirk, Greg Ladanyi, Humberto Gatica
Mastered By – Larry Emerine, Stephen Marcussen
Mixed By –Humberto Gatica (Tracks 1, 2, 4, 8, 9, 10)
Mixed By – Greg Ladanyi (Tracks 3)
Mixed By – George Massenburg (Tracks 5, 6, 7)
Mixed By (Also Mixed By) – Fee Waybill

Art Direction (Capitol Records) – Roy Kohara
Art Direction (Tubes Group) – Michael Cotten, Prairie Prince
Artwork (Contributor) – Bill Burks, Jim English, Jim Welch, Lee Mell, Matt Leach, Phil Shima, Stan Pesket
Cover (Collaborator) – Balfour Patterson, Paul Knotter
Design (Tubes Package & Visuals) – Cotten/Prince Productions
Photography By (Back Portraits) – Cees Van Gelderen
Photography By (Back Tube Model) – Mike Hashimoto
Photography By (Contributor) – Doug Menuez, Ira Sandler, Jonathan Exley
Photography By (Front) – Jim McCrary

Manufactured By – Capitol Records, Inc.
Pressed By – Capitol Records Pressing Plant, Jacksonville
Produced For – Foster Frees Music, Inc.
Recorded At – The Automatt
Recorded At – Capitol Studios
Recorded At – The Complex
Recorded At – Davlen Sound Studios
Recorded At – Different Fur Studios
Recorded At – Lion Share Recording Studios
Recorded At – Manor Studio, Los Angeles
Recorded At – Record One, Los Angeles
Recorded At – Russian Hill Recording
Recorded At – Tubesound
Mixed At – The Complex
Mixed At – Lion Share Recording Studios
Mixed At – Record One, Los Angeles
Mastered At – Precision Lacquer
Phonographic Copyright (p) – Capitol Records, Inc.
Copyright (c) – Capitol Records, Inc.
Published By – Decomposition Music
Published By – Boones Tunes
Published By – Foster Frees Music
Published By – Rehtakul Veets Music
Published By – Warner-Tamerlane Publishing Corp.
Published By – V2 Music
Published By – Saggifire Music
Published By – CBS Songs