1976 David Batteau – Happy In Hollywood

Happy In Hollywood is the debut solo album by David Batteau, released in 1976.

David Batteau (born June 25, 1949) is an American singer-songwriter. Batteau is the son of Blanca Batteau and Dr. Dwight Wayne Batteau, of Harvard University and Tufts University. He is the brother of singer/songwriter Robin Batteau.

Batteau is widely credited for writing songs for various entertainers, including Seals and Crofts, Trisha Yearwood, Michael Sembello and Shawn Colvin. He co-wrote several songs with Madeleine Peyroux and Larry Klein for Peyroux’s 2009 album, Bare Bones.

He has also focused on solo work, and has released one solo album, Happy in Hollywood (1976) on A&M Records. Batteau had previously worked with his brother Robin as Batteaux, releasing one album on Columbia Records in 1971. This album contains the song “Tell Her She’s Lovely” which was covered by El Chicano in 1973.

In the mid-1980s, Batteau formed the Pop/New Wave band Nomo, which released one album, The Great Unknown, in 1985, scoring a minor hit with “Red Lipstick” before disbanding. He also wrote and performed the song “Walk in Love,” which was later covered by The Manhattan Transfer, reaching Number 12 on the UK Singles Chart.


1  Happy In Hollywood (David Batteau) 4:23
2  Festival Of Fools (David Batteau) 4:23
3  Oh, My Little Darling (David Batteau) 2:42
4  My Morning Glory (David Batteau) 5:19
5  Orphee (Or-fay) (David Batteau) 5:10
6  Walk In Love (David Batteau) 3:19
7  Spaceship Earth (David Batteau) 4:57
8  Dancing On Atoms (David Batteau) 4:10
9  You Need Love (David Batteau) 3:47
10  The Gates In Your Hearts (David Batteau) 4:28



BassKenny Altman
BassWillie Weeks
DrumsJeffrey Porcaro
GuitarRobert Ahwai
GuitarDavid Spinozza
Acoustic GuitarDavid Batteau
KeyboardsDavid Paich
KeyboardsRoy Davis
TrumpetMartin Drover
TrumpetMichael Bailey
FluteSteve Gregory
Background VocalsAlexandra Sliwin
Background VocalsSloan Sliwin
Background VocalsDeniece Williams
Background VocalsJulia Tillman Waters
Background VocalsMaxine Willard Waters
Background VocalsKaren Friedman

Liner Notes

Producer, Engineer – Ken Scott
Engineer – Ed Thacker
Mastered By – Frank DeLuna

Art Direction – Roland Young
Artwork – Paul Jasmin
Design – Junie Osaki
Photography By – Dorothy Tanous

Manufactured By – Pony Canyon Inc.
Phonographic Copyright (p) – A&M Records, Inc.
Copyright (c) – A&M Records, Inc.