1977 Jimmy Webb – El Mirage

El Mirage is the sixth album by American singer-songwriter Jimmy Webb, released in May 1977 by Atlantic Records. This was the first album for which Webb handed production and arrangement duties on to another person, George Martin, producer of The Beatles. The album is notable for containing “The Highwayman”, a song that later provided both the name and first hit for The Highwaymen, a country supergroup comprising Johnny Cash, Waylon Jennings, Kris Kristofferson, and Willie Nelson. Jennings also recorded the track “If You See Me Getting Smaller” for his album Ol Waylon (1977).


1  The Highwayman (Jimmy Webb) 3:50
2  If You See Me Getting Smaller I’m Leaving (Jimmy Webb) 3:52
3  Mixed-Up Guy (Jimmy Webb) 3:40
4  Christiaan, No (Jimmy Webb) 3:06
5  Moment in a Shadow (Jimmy Webb) 3:39
6  Sugarbird (Jimmy Webb) 3:27
7  Where the Universes Are (Jimmy Webb) 3:34
8  P.F. Sloan (Jimmy Webb) 4:16
9  Dance to the Radio (Fred Tackett) 3:06
10  The Moon Is a Harsh Mistress (Jimmy Webb) 3:06
11  Skylark(A Meditation) (Jimmy Webb, Paul Skylar) 3:38



BassDavid Hungate
BassDee Murray
BassLarry Knechtel
DrumsJim Gordon
DrumsNigel Olson
GuitarDean Parks
GuitarFred Tackett
Slide GuitarLowell George
12 String GuitarHerb Pedersen
BanjoHerb Pedersen
KeyboardsDavid Paich
KeyboardsJimmy Webb
KeyboardsGeorge Martin
SynthesizerDavid Paich
PercussionHarvey Mason Sr
Background VocalsHerb Pedersen
Background VocalsBilly Davis
Background VocalsGeorge Hawkins
Background VocalsKenny Loggins
Background VocalsSherlie Matthews
Background VocalsSusan Webb
Background VocalsClydie King

Liner Notes

Producer – George Martin
Arranged By – George Martin
Conductor – George Martin
Concertmaster – Harry Bluestone
Engineer – John Mills
Engineer (Second) – George Tutko
Mastered By – George Piros

Art Direction – Bob Defrin
Photography (Liner) – David Alexander Studio, Steve Smith
Photography By (Cover) – Henry Diltz

Phonographic Copyright (p) – Atlantic Recording Corporation
Copyright (c) – Atlantic Recording Corporation
Recorded At – Cherokee Studios
Manufactured By – Atlantic Recording Corporation
Mastered At – Atlantic Studios